Wee Scoops

Measure for Measure

Heat #roadtrip

We are not all that accustomed to heat, coming from the West of Scotland. Summer for us is “hoodies on, hoodies off” depending on whether or not the sun is between or behind the clouds.

We were therefore a little anxious about the 45 degrees (113 degrees Fahrenheit) heat that awaited us in Las Vegas.

True enough, we got off the plane and fell into a different medium of existence, like stepping bodily into a vat of hot soup.

Waiting for the Uber in the shade of a concrete carpark, the air blew through in a hot breeze. It was like standing in the full blast of a hairdryer on at full bung.

The hotel’s AirCon was great. So we put it up full bung and crashed out. Then we woke up shivering and got into bed.

Walking for any distance, and I mean any distance, took some consideration. The thought of going from the hotel room to the foyer through the grounds was a bit of a thought. Going to the (Hard Rock) café across the street was a major expedition. We could see the appeal of driving even such a microscopic distance, had we had a car.

img_1019
The hottest half hour of the whole trip was at Horseshoe Bend. It was a mile/mile and a half walk to a spectacular view. I don’t know how hot it was, but it was hot.

img_0166

I felt like a scuba diver – with my hydration hose in my face, sooking in the water instead of air, swimming through the heat haze. A park ranger was on duty to give first aid to people who took ill on the trail, spraying them with water and advising them to pour water over their heads and giving them shade and a seat.

img_0171

In Scotland, breaking sweat generally takes some effort.

After the Horseshoe Bend walk, we all got in the van and our bodies went into sweat overdrive. I have never seen anything like it, sweatwise. All the water we had taken in, while out frying in the desert, came pouring from pores. Splish splash drip drop.

The human body is amazing.

The temperatures we experienced are probably at the edge of what humans can take, for any length of time. Las Vegas, and the other hot places felt kind of unsustainable – that city certainly could not function without the robust air con that it has. A major and sustained power cut would finish the place off.

Water in the desert takes on so much more significance than water in Glasgow.

I feel a post about the Samaritan woman at the well coming on, perhaps another day…

“Everyone who drinks this water will be thirsty again, but whoever drinks the water I give him will never thirst. Indeed, the water I give them will become in them a spring of water welling up to eternal life.” John 4 vs 13,14.

 

 

 

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Heat #roadtrip

  1. I think there is no getting used to heat like that, there is only so many layers you can take off, you can’t take your skin off, there is nothing to do but sweat and drip. When I was in my twenties, I could function during heat waves, nowadays, I’m a just a mess in the heat. Lol

  2. Shame on me for laughing so much at this, your extreme discomfort! But you are a great humor writer!

    I am sure you would eventually get used to the heat, although I am sure I would prefer Scotland, too, given a choice! I would own sheep and learn to knit! Ha! (Furthest thing from your mind, right now? Perhaps?)
    I come from the state of Missouri, in the northern half of it, where temperatures are more moderate. It usually stays below 100 in summer, for instance, and almost always is cold enough for snow in winter. When we moved to the Deep South, we had Missouri attitudes, and did not prefer an air conditioned home.
    However, with that warmth, there was also humidity and our furniture and shoes were molding. So we saw the necessity.
    But people have always lived in the USA, even before air conditioning or even fans.
    The heat is something a person can become accustomed to. It’s taken me a long while, but I have adapted. I would not go out and mow (as in, pushing the machine around, not riding it) during the heat of a typical Nevada summer day, but I do it here, when it is hovering around 100. Perspiring is supposedly good for us and maybe we shower more than northerners do. Or need to.
    I would think the tourist stores would sell those scarves that hold water and evaporate quickly, that many people wear around the neck during extreme heat. I just use an old hand towel when I mow, doused in water. The fancy scarf thingies are quite sharper-looking and really do cool the whole body noticeably. Worth checking …

Leave a Reply

