Wee Scoops

Measure for Measure

#Prayer Patterns #psalm23

The Lord’s Prayer was recorded in the gospels a few centuries after David wrote Psalm 23, but in Psalm 23, the writer sounds as if he has prayed the Lord’s prayer and it has been answered.

What do you think of the links between these familiar prayers?

David prays: “The Lord is my shepherd, I lack nothing”, demonstrating an answer to the request, “Give us this day our daily bread.”

He continues: “He makes me lie down in green pastures, he leads me beside quiet waters, he refreshes my soul. He guides me along the right paths”. Such restoration and peace are the hope of the heart that prays: “Thy kingdom come”.

This guidance and refreshing is all: “for his name’s sake”, foreshadowing the Lord’s prayer saying “Hallowed by thy name.”

David continues: “Even though I walk through the darkest valley, I will fear no evil, for you are with me; your rod and your staff, they comfort me.” The psalmist has found the leading of the Lord as Shepherd comforting: “Lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from evil.”

He states, “You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies. You anoint my head with oil. My cup overflows”. This is less easy to map onto the Lord’s prayer – but the relationship between the person praying and their “enemies” is addressed. In both images, the person and their “enemies” are being brought back into relationship with one another, and that relationship is put into context in the relationship of both parties to God. “Forgive us our debts as we forgive our debtors.”

Psalm 23 ends: “Surely your goodness and love will follow me all the days of my life, and I will dwell in the house of the Lord forever.” which could be seen to point to God as “Our Father, who art in Heaven”.

The Lord’s Prayer is given as a pattern as to how we should pray and David in the Psalms seems to have captured the pattern before it was given.

What is the pattern? – earthly sustenance, restoration of relationships with God and others, peace and hope and heaven.

THE LORD’S PRAYER:

Our Father Who art in Heaven, hallowed be thy name. Thy kingdom come, thy will be done on earth as it is in heaven. Give us this day our daily bread and forgive us our debts as we forgive our debtors. Lead us not into temptation but deliver us from evil.

PSALM 23:

The Lord is my shepherd, I lack nothing.

He makes me lie down in green pastures, he leads me beside quiet waters,  he refreshes my soul.

He guides me along the right paths for his name’s sake.

Even though I walk through the darkest valley,

I will fear no evil,  for you are with me;

your rod and your staff, they comfort me.

You prepare a table before me in the presence of my enemies.

You anoint my head with oil; my cup overflows.

Surely your goodness and love will follow me all the days of my life,

and I will dwell in the house of the Lord forever.

 

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “#Prayer Patterns #psalm23

  1. theotheri on said:

    I grew up knowing both this psalm & prayer. But I never thought to put them together. They are both sustaining and profound guides for lives across the millenia, aren’t they? Terry

    • Yes I find it weird that I hadn’t linked them in my mind before now as they are both so utterly familiar. I think Psalm 23 really resonates with people when life gets complicated. I think it depicts life as it should be with the stability and peace we crave.

  2. sharingiscaring00 on said:

    This was my grandma’s favorite in the bible. I am a Christian and Laurie told me about your blog.

Leave a Reply

