Wee Scoops

Measure for Measure

#Jelly

‘Jelly’ is what I believe ‘Jell-O’ is across the pond. Here, a peanut butter and jelly sandwich wouldn’t really work out. And ‘jelly’ across the pond is pretty much what the Scots would have down as ‘jeely’. I think jam falls somewhere beyond the jelly of the Americas and the jeely of the Scots and has seeds in. I think.

Jelly in my childhood was generally lime, eaten on a Sunday after going to the Baptist church and coming home to make the gravy.

(My contribution to the production of the Sunday Lunch was to shake the gravy powder into the water in my mother’s Tupperware gravy shaker. Not sure the gravy shaker was entirely necessary. But the Tupperware ladies were great salespeople, if my childhood memories of stored food are anything to go by.)

The lime green jelly was served with cream, to take the edge off the synthetic flavour.

Jelly also appeared on the menu for school dinners. It was dark red and very … gelatinous? Thick? Dense? Whatever the right word is for it, it made a very satisfying suction-based noise when you took a spoonful of it. It tasted like nothing you can imagine, but, very occasionally, some vile cheap confection will bring the memory right back.

Making jelly is very satisfying. Pulling the chunks apart before melting them is good. Watching the cubes melt to blobs compelling viewing also. Eating a cube neat? Always a temptation.

Nowadays I don’t make jelly. Occasionally the children make it, for a thing to do. The nearest I get to it is when I chug back an energy jel during a long race or run, when it’s like jelly cubes that are all melted. Always vile and warm as they’ve been carried along in a pocket near my jelly belly.

Wibble wobble.

Single Post Navigation

9 thoughts on “#Jelly

  1. theotheri on said:

    I thought after my many years in England that I’d become pretty bi-lingual in terms of English on both sides of the pond. But your jelly-jello distinction is a brand new one for me. Maybe because I always told my mother to leave the jelly out of my peanut butter sandwiches, and thought that jello was produced by people who didn’t know how to make anything better. Doesn’t sound as if you have maintained a deep affection for jeely, jelly, or jello either – whatever you call it.

    I put raisins and nuts in my pockets to keep me going on the trail. Oh, and when I’m being really evil, bits of a Lindt hazelnut chocolate bar broken up into small chunks.

    • I am nipping across the pond this summer so will perhaps continue my research into all things gelatinous.

      • theotheri on said:

        Hope you enjoy your visit “overseas,” and that some of your thoughts will emigrate back to your blog. Looking forward to hearing what my homeland looks like from your perspective. Terry

  2. I have my childhood memories of “cooking” jello and then making parfaits with chilled jello and Cool Whip, an alternative whipped cream topping (all artificial ingredients) an American child’s dream for dessert, lol.

  3. When I was growing up my mum used to make two types of jelly – bramble jelly made with brambles/blackberries collected from the hedgerows and then the kind of jelly we might have with tinned fruit as a pudding. She didn’t use cubes of jelly though, she bought packets of jelly crystals. I rarely make jelly (pudding) now, but if I did it would probably be lime. I have made bramble jelly once and found it a rather laborious process having to strain all the seeds out of the mixture, but the resulting concoction was very tasty.
    Reading this post made me think of the Jeely Piece Song – do you know that one?

    • Oh yes. The singer of the jeely piece song Alastair Mcdonald was a member of our church for many years. The other classic was the wee Kirkcudbright centipede. Are you familiar?

      • I couldn’t have told you who the singer was – that’s an interesting connection you have with the song. I know the Kirkcudbright centipede song, but I’m not word perfect on it – which I am with the jeely piece one. 🙂

Leave a Reply

