Wee Scoops

Measure for Measure

Never in a Month of Run Days…   #fitbit #marcothon #boring

… did I think I would become a fitness bore, but it has happened. I even irritate myself. *yawns*

I may not have got any faster, I certainly haven’t got any lighter, but I am definitely the fittest I have ever been in my 42 and three quarter years. (Except for my right calf.)

(Not that you are interested. I sure wouldn’t be, if I were you, most likely.)

As a friend once said, “You weren’t always ‘this’ person…”

So, I did a month of run days for the Marcothon, just for fun. It was fun and I did it: perfect daily justification for posting a selfie, a weather comment, and, after Santa had been, some stats.

But who wants to know?

Sad thing is, I am interested in everyone else’s weather comments, selfies and stats.

I want to know.

I want to know who burned how many calories, ran in the rain, found a new route, suffered a chafe, got a pb, felt great, struggled, found a new running window, ran in the light, ran in the dark, ran before, during or after work, on a road, canal path or up a hill…

I got a fitbit gadget for Christmas. It tells me everything. Fire me forwards a hundred years and I am in a dystopia with a dictatorial microchip… but for now, I can take it off. I can.

So far, it works. One evening I found myself running on the spot as I was a couple of hundred steps short of the 10,000 target. Today I did a 30 minute work out in the house so as to keep to my five-active-days-a-week plan. I’m even going to ‘go dark’ techwise a little earlier so that I can have a chance of meeting my sleep aims…

So, that’s been a week… maybe my Pharisee Phitness will wear off…

Single Post Navigation

7 thoughts on “Never in a Month of Run Days…   #fitbit #marcothon #boring

  1. theotheri on said:

    At the age of 75, I am living in your future. And I can’t tell you how grateful I am for all the days beginning in my 30’s that I kept to my 10,000 steps a day 5 days a week routine. Plus a few flexibility and strength exercises for about 5 min/day.

    Don’t stop. You are putting a foundation under your future!

  2. I burst out laughing at dictatorial microchip! LOL Your future body will surely thank you, mostly likely by challenging you to a run off. 😉

Leave a Reply

