Wee Scoops

Measure for Measure

Oranges are not the only fruit, a poem

At work there was a discussion about the relative merits of various citrus fruit. I felt subsequently driven to write a poem on the theme. There are a lot more verses in draft, but I need to go and cook the dinner now. I don’t really have an opinion on Clementines and Satsumas; they are too much of an effort to eat.

Oranges are not the only fruit
 
My darling Clementine,
I find you a-peeling.
 
You assume a Satsuma
May be Mandarin.
You assume that a kumquat
Consumed ought to be what
You thought lay within.
 
I may be thick skinned,
But I have zest.
Squeeze me now.IMG_5487

Single Post Navigation

7 thoughts on “Oranges are not the only fruit, a poem

  1. theotheri on said:

    I love it!

  2. Hail to the citrus! šŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

