Wee Scoops

Measure for Measure

Wondering if I have loyalty to loyalty

There was a woman on Radio 4 tonight that was annoying me. I wasn’t listening carefully enough though; I was too busy realizing I had driven away from training still wearing their bib, then I was too busy almost killing a badger while thinking it was a funny looking fox. It survived. It did a shimmy of panic and darted off into a field looking a bit like a hovercraft, in some respects.

The woman on the radio was annoying me because she was genuinely hitting out with a life-theory that drives me nuts. Her basic premise was actually “Be True To Yourself”. The discussion was about loyalty and the group on the radio were running through various scenarios and discussing how big a part loyalty should play in each one. She kept bringing it back to loyalty to the self.

Isn’t that actually what is wrong with the world?

As I say, she may not have been as delusional as I wasn’t taking it all in.

Loyalty.

The dictionary gives synonyms: allegiance, faithfulness, fidelity, obedience, fealty, adherence, homage, devotion, bond…

In all of these words there is the sense of the other – the fact that we are not necessarily the only person or will in play. To be loyal, there has to be someone or something else that has some kind of a bearing on one’s own will and actions.

Should we be loyal? How thick and thin do things have to be before we abandon loyalty?

How many seasons does your team have to be rubbish before you change teams?

How long should partners be faithful to one another – or do we think “till death us do part” is the way to go?

In what circumstances do we think – eh… NO! and move on to new allegiances.

This is likely to be the first in a short series on loyalty. I haven’t worked out my thoughts yet.

I think loyalty is quite close to duty and I have a problem with duty as ‘a good thing’ – so we’ll see how it goes.

Anyway. If you are thinking “but of course we should be true to ourselves” please have another look at Hamlet and figure out what (was it) Polonius (?) actually meant…

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Wondering if I have loyalty to loyalty

  1. I am with you on the loyalty issue and the questions that revolve around it. Good questions. I look forward to reading future posts 🙂

Leave a Reply

