Wee Scoops

Measure for Measure

42? #themeaningoflife

I was asked last week what the meaning of life was.

The first idea for a response was to spit out the ‘right’ answer according to the catechism as far as it is recorded in my memory : “to glorify God and enjoy him forever”. But it doesn’t seem right to give someone a pre-package un-processed citation of someone else’s pithy nutshell.

I am going to have to think of my own way to put it.

There are two other “right answers” that come to mind” – one is from “The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy” where they discover that the answer to “life, the universe and everything” is 42.

Good to know.

The last “right answer”  that came to mind was this wee bit of comedy monologue from Fawlty Towers –

“Schum! What was that? That was your life, mate. Oh, that was quick; do I get another? Sorry, mate, that’s your lot…”

So, now that I am finished the burpee challenge, I can turn my attention to the meaning of life.

Assuming they are not the same thing 😉

 

Single Post Navigation

7 thoughts on “42? #themeaningoflife

  1. Imagine if the burpee was the meaning of life? I don’t yet know the meaning of life, but that is okay. 🙂

  2. Watch Bill & Ted’s Bogus Journey again. Its in there.

  3. theotheri on said:

    I am absolutely positive the right answer is 42! Either that or life is a mystery. I sort of swing between the two, depending on whether I’m reading poetry or doing the dishes. (Doing the dishes, of course, is the mysterious part.)

  4. Pingback: Finding profundity in doing the dishes… ;-) #themeaningoflife | Wee Scoops

Leave a Reply

