Wee Scoops

Measure for Measure

What is Christmas all about?

English: An artificial Christmas tree.

English: An artificial Christmas tree. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I asked my kids this question. Here is what they said:

Daughter 2 (Age 5)

Jesus being born. Winter and snow. Like if the wise men gave, like, Jesus presents then we would get presents if we were good. It’s the time of year when you build snowmans and snowballs. Do foxes come out at winter? Yes? Is that right? Do, wait, ice comes? Animals having their winter sleep. The flowers having their winter sleep? Yeah. Does wind come out at winter? Leaves falling off trees, I think. Getting your Christmas trees. Like, if it was winter it would be cold. Putting your star on the tree because the sign is Jesus is born.

Daughter 1 (age 7)

To celebrate when Jesus was born. They celebrate it because it’s, he’s, God’s son. And people really like it because you get presents, Santa comes, you get a big dinner. But most of all they like it because, Christians like it because Jesus was born. Also because people like it you can get snow, you can get snowmen, you can get snow angels. To celebrate Christmas you might put up decorations; you might put up a Christmas tree; you might set up a table for a big dinner and you also might tidy every room so when people come they don’t trip; they don’t fall and they don’t hurt themselves. Christmas is also about when you get loads of presents from family, from Santa. You get an Advent calendar.

Son (age 10)

Well I think Christmas is about Jesus’ birth and that we should remember he was born, and I also like the presents, the family and friends and the big turkey Christmas dinner. I find it really fun because we get together with our family and go on trips and we also have church services and do a nativity. I like waking up on Christmas morning and going through to wake up my parents. It is really funny how they want me to go back to bed. I also like how the snow falls and you can make snowballs and have snowball fights outside. I also really like my friends coming round and we can play games together and I also have fun with my family and all these gifts but I know that I have to remember all the people that don’t have the stuff that we have. Christmas is my favourite part of the year and I find it very fun. I also like having a tree and decorating it with lights and tinsel.

 

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “What is Christmas all about?

  1. I think you should interview husband of Sanstorm as well… 😉

  2. One of the things that I miss most about teaching the little ones is sitting down with them and having conversations. Kids know and say the cutest things 😀

  3. theotheri on said:

    You might enjoy the following – http://www.youtube.com/watch_popup?v=ki8EcnVbd-Q

    But most of all, I hope you and your family have a happy and merry Christmas all round.

    (I wouldn’t ask my husband about Christmas either… But I do know he doesn’t believe in Santa Clause.)

Leave a Reply

