Wee Scoops

Measure for Measure

Calendar Crash

 I’ve started to miss things.

I don’t think it’s a sign of ageing, yet. I think it is a sign of not keeping my diary carefully enough.

The wee button-type touch-screen keys on the iphone are too fiddly so I can’t be bothered to type things in. The children present me with “bits of paper” with dates, times and events. I fill in the return slips and write the relevant cheques, but I don’t always remember when the thing is actually on.

So I have spent the afternoon writing down everything that I think is scheduled for the rest of the year.

I am not touching 2014.

I am reminded of the Psalmist who asked God to:

Teach us to number our days,

that we may gain a heart of wisdom.

Psalm 90

He isn’t talking about calendars here, although that’s what made me think of it. He’s talking about awareness of the brevity of life. Time is precious and finite; it’s when we have a heightened awareness of this fact that we are wise enough not to waste our time.

In these last weeks of the year, not only do I hope I remember what I am supposed to be doing; I hope it is wise. Not convinced it will look much like wisdom, right enough…

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “Calendar Crash

  1. Are you sure he wasn’t talking about a calendar? hee, hee just teasing. I feel the same way about the tiny buttons on the iPhone, I feel that it is much fater to write the dates down on a conventional calendar hanging on the wall.

    • Maybe he was. I would feel wiser if I could number my days.
      I remembered another thing I forgot today. I’ve written it down now.
      🙂

      • I have decided to try to forgive myself for forgetting, though I do forget that at times. Maybe the writing things down will become a habit, and habits do not have to be remembered. That would be a good thing 🙂

  2. Nothing like the new technology to keep us on our toes!

Leave a Reply

