Wee Scoops

Measure for Measure

What the world needs is another fabby faddy diet, so here’s mine…

English: Pringles chips (sour cream and onion ...

English: Pringles chips (sour cream and onion flavor) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Every year I go into some kind of food-intake-modification mode in November.

I call it “No-vember”.

This year for No-Vember, I am going to give up – as far as is possible – overly processed food; pop the Pringles out of sight, banish the spreadable butter, nuke those microwave meals: I’m going to be eating real food that looks like what it is.

Actual meat is okay, actual fruit, actual veg – that kind of thing. I’m envisaging a lot in the soup line and finally getting to grips with a wider range of curries from scratch.

It’ll be great.

Now, usually in No-Vember, I abstain completely from all sweets and chocolate – but I’ve decided that, this year, there is room for cakes, pies and biscuits – as long as we make them ourselves, out of actual ingredients.

That’ll never happen.

I like No-Vember to last six weeks, so actual November is too short (which is ironic as it is one of the longest months in the parenting calendar: not a single break), so I have commandeered the last week or so of October to get a head start on No-Vember.

So I am looking forward to breaking free from my weekly cycle of plastic microwave meals, trans-fat-tastic muffins, tastebud-trashing Doritos and my other unspeakable culinary vices.

I’ll be sad about the chocolate caramels, the Tunnock’s Caramel Wafers and the Caramel Digestives.

Caramelised onions are okay though…

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “What the world needs is another fabby faddy diet, so here’s mine…

  1. You did great last year so I anticipate that you will go through No-vember without any hiccups. I’m sort of doing something similar, I have abstained from ice cream for the past two weeks. I am giving my arteries a vacation from the fats and sugars. I don’t have a specific time frame in mind, we’ll see. 🙂

Leave a Reply

