Wee Scoops

Measure for Measure

CLOCKS HAVE STOPPED

Image representing iPhone as depicted in Crunc...

Image via CrunchBase

True enough, it did seem to be five past eleven for rather longer than usual. Then I read the email with the subject line: “CLOCKS HAVE STOPPED”, informing us that all of the clocks in the building had stopped simultaneously, leaving us all with an eerie sense of impending dystopia.

Time stood still.

To make matters worse, my iPhone chose today to go into meltdown – just showing a not-specially-helpful iTunes icon – not allowing me to text, make calls, or even tell the time.

I was lost in time.

WH Auden would have been pleased, I thought, if no one else:  “Stop all the clocks, cut off the telephone,” and all that.

Right.

Now I have a million things to do (you wouldn’t believe how hard it is to work out how much a percent of one’s disposable income one might need to spend on onions in various countries is but that’s another story that may or may not be worth going into some other time).

Time is running away with me now.

 

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “CLOCKS HAVE STOPPED

  1. How eerie. I probably spend a bigger percentage of my disposable income on onions than most people, I use them in everything. 🙂

  2. It’s when the clocks strike 13 that you should really start to worry.

    Did they discover the cause?

Leave a Reply

