Wee Scoops

Measure for Measure

Free Sonnet

I couldn’t get this poem to format properly on WordPress. It didn’t like me adding white space. So, I’ve added a picture of how the poem is meant to look.

20130906-093601 PM.jpg

Free Sonnet

I like to hang
out on a limb sometimes;
Enjambement I’ve used to cut
my lines.
A poem’s ragged edge can be on form,
but sometimes I lament this is the norm.
A sonnet’s form requires the poet’s skill:
Sodoku for innumerates. I still
believe there’s value lining up five feet,
and hoping that the syllables will meet.
But free
verse
is unbounded
poetry;
the dangled words are much more clear
to see,
and savour
as they season
and infuse
the sense with connotations. Never lose
A nuance or an echo in the mind
We travel through the poetry to find.

 

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Free Sonnet

  1. This one is incredibly pretty, both in the way it reads and the way it sings to me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

