Wee Scoops

Measure for Measure

… and relax

Collage of varius Gray's muscle pictures by Mi...

Collage of varius Gray’s muscle pictures by Mikael Häggström (User:Mikael Häggström) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

I thought I’d be happy sitting there all afternoon, encased in my gold foil sheet, wearing my orange headband and basking in a little warmth from the sun.

Soon however, I felt a bit juddery and thought I’d go and change into dry clothes.  A couple of photos and we were ready to leave.

Before setting off for the car park (which was a mile away – and I can tell you – that mile was a sight longer on the way home than on the way there) we stopped at a coffee stall for drinks and the largest blueberry muffins known to man. And if ever a blueberry muffin was justifiable, that was the moment. 🙂

We got to the car, sat on the gold sheets and had a go at eating our packed lunches. I was sure I’d fancy a couple of cheese rolls and a pint of Ribena, but the cheese had gone all greasy and the Ribena didn’t hit the mark somehow after the pint of Strongbow and the tea and the blueberry muffin. I ate half a Snickers, if only because it’s the only day I would have exercised enough to burn one off in advance.

As we finally set off, my muscles started to stiffen up, and by the halfway home stop at the services (well, I had had a pint of Strongbow, a cup of tea and a bottle of Ribena) I was starting to feel the weariness settle into my bones.

When I got home I bathed (obv) and then lay down on my bed (obv).

Stationary as stationary I lay, eyes closed, perfectly conscious. Perfectly conscious of every single part of my body as a separate entity, each one aching in its own way. I could see myself as an anatomical model with every muscle stripped and defined, having been plucked out and replaced by a clumsy anatomy student. And I lay there and I lay there. I did not move.

The next day I cleaned the whole house from top to bottom for five hours solid.

And if that doesn’t help to ease up the muscles that other exercises won’t reach, going to training certainly will.

“No Quitting!”

“Hoo-Rah!”

 

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “… and relax

  1. Laurie Nichols on said:

    My muscles have felt like that at one point or another over the years, it does feel weird and they feel almost unattached, separate from the rest of you. You are indeed amazing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

