Wee Scoops

Measure for Measure

Embracing Middle Age

525357_10151437758882973_168226068_n

And with this post I draw the line under a brilliant weekend of birthday celebrations.

Not being morbid – quite the reverse – I came across (via TED) an article in the Guardian about deathbed regrets. The top five regrets of the dying are, apparently:

  1. I wish I hadn’t worked so hard.
  2. I wish I’d had the courage to live a life true to myself, not the life others expected of me.
  3. I wish I’d had the courage to express my feelings.
  4. I wish I had stayed in touch with my friends.
  5. I wish I had let myself be happier.

Not that I am dying – but you never know, seriously – when the ground is going to swallow you up, when the vehicle you are travelling in is going to blow up, when a helicopter is going to fall out of the sky onto you, when a car is going to crash into your house, when you are going to fall ill and have to face illness /death…

I think that my birthday party pretty much checked off all of the potential regrets – give or take a few philosophical quibbles with them.

  • In my mid-life jubilee I have not taken on much paid work – although I have worked just as hard on other things and had a lot of fun.
  •  I don’t hold with “to thine own self be true” because I think it is subjective postmodernist bunk – but I don’t think the cabaret acts that I did at my party were what anyone would have necessarily expected to see… like…. Ever 😉
  •  Feelings? Yes, I have feelings, but “expressing” them as I think the regret means would come into a clash with regret number 2.
  • As for staying in touch with my friends, the party was one way to get a lot of people together and it was great to have all four decades represented by fun, interesting people, their partners and children.
  • Happier? I can’t think of a single thing I could do to generate more happiness. I was given roller skates!

What a riot. So, if you’re feeling down – I recommend: make a song and dance about it; make an exhibition of yourself.

😉

Single Post Navigation

11 thoughts on “Embracing Middle Age

  1. theotheri on said:

    And Happy Birthday from me too.
    Terry

  2. According to the current edition of the Oxford English Dictionary, you won’t be middle aged for another 5 years yet. According to old editions of the same book, you have just entered it. According to US census statistics you’ve already been in it for 5 years.

    Just sayin.

  3. Happy Birthday!!! Middle aged no longer has the same meaning as it did during our mother’s time. On a news program just last weekend they were calling 72 the new 30 because with more exercise, better medicine, older age no longer means the same thing. So I say you have the perfect attitude and carry on as you are. 🙂

  4. Happy Birthday! Great cake. 🙂 The top 5 regrets are worth being reminded of – it’s too easy to lose sight of them.

  5. Happy birthday!

    I have a friend who needs to know about that top regret.

Leave a Reply

