Wee Scoops

Measure for Measure

Me, Joseph and “Joseph and the Amazing Technicolour Dreamcoat” #E100

English: Joseph made ruler in Egypt

English: Joseph made ruler in Egypt (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

It has been Joseph week in the E100.  I must admit, I have been tempted to skim in places. Thanks to Andrew Lloyd Webber and co, the story is very familiar – the downside is that my usual ability to quote scripture is usurped by a propensity to break into lyrics from the musical.

The lyrics are practically in my blood.

“Joesph and the Amazing Tecnhicolour Dream Coat” was one of the few LPs we had, besides ABBA’s “Arrival” and various Wombles albums.  We played it and played it and the whole musical became embedded in my subconscious.

This was handy for trips up north to visit my Gran – in the days before various roads and bridges were opened and the currently four hour journey used to take seven.

At some point on the journey, we would begin singing: “Way, way, back many centuries ago, not long after the Bible began, Jacob lived in the land of Canaan, a fine example of a family man…”

I don’t know if we even would have had a radio in the car back then – but that far north there wouldn’t have been a signal, I’m sure, even if we had.

Whole musical. Beginning to end.

By the time we were nearly there, we were on to reciting adverts. I was sitting in the middle and my sisters, one on either side, were prodding me in the bladder for a laugh. Ho Ho.

Roll on fifteen years or so – and we are living for a short time as four generations in one house. I end up having to share with my nephew. He is about four or five months old and not sleeping through the night. When he wakes, my sister comes through, sings him a lullaby and he goes back to sleep.

One night, he just doesn’t settle. I am lying there, as I always did, pretending to be asleep so that she didn’t feel bad about him sharing with me and waking me. She tried a few songs. Nothing worked. Then I heard…  “Way, way, back many centuries ago, not long after the Bible began, Jacob lived in the land of Canaan, a fine example of a family man…” and I thought:

NO! NO! NO! NO! NO!

The sudden prospect of two hours of Lloyd Webber in the wee small hours was enough to break me. My tolerance finally cracked and I expelled the infant.

Roll on one or two years, and I have my first live Joseph experience, going to see Phillip Schofield in Edinburgh which I’ve posted about before.  Then twice more.

Now I am trying to make it through the actual story. Two summary insights: Reuben was a good guy, and God was in control and it all made sense with hindsight for Joseph.

So, if you are ever putting on a production of Joseph and your narrator comes down with the lurgy – give me a call.

*sings* “And a man who can interpret could go far…… could become a star……”

Single Post Navigation

11 thoughts on “Me, Joseph and “Joseph and the Amazing Technicolour Dreamcoat” #E100

  1. I always enjoyed the story as told by the nuns in my school but I never had the desire to see the Broadway musical. Great post and what a trip down memory lane.:)

  2. Arrrgh!! Please could I introduce my sister to your blog?? She would also love it.

    1989 was a Bad Year, there was the Hillsborough Disaster (we’re Owls fans) Grandad took a stroke, we found out Grandma was poorly with Alzheimers and he’d been taking it all on himself. Grandad died. Grandma became really ill. Parents/uncle/aunt had to barricade themselves to care for Grandma at night, and stay safe. Grandma died just about when the Berlin wall came down. My sister and I were 13 and 15. Three good things happened that year. We got kittens. We went to Skye on holiday. The family made it out all together to see Joseph at the Crucible. We then bought the tape. We then played the tape. We played it some more. It was catharsis, it was ridiculously wonderful therapy. We went back the next year. Dad nearly made Jacob crack. Every car journey was Joseph. We no longer needed the tape. Then came Jason Donovan and the Joseph Megamix. It was, and remains cemented in our brain. For ever. I did sing it to the children, to get them to sleep…! Arghh! So, I can handle Joseph, but, I can’t handle Oliver…

    • “Dad nearly made Jacob crack” – is it the other way around, a cream cracker reference or am I just slow?
      Great comment – and what a range of memories all at the one go!
      Jason Donovan *sighs* memories, memories…

  3. Hmm, that wasn’t really a comment as such, more of a lengthy statement…! Glad to be able to wax, on a cold afternoon, to other grown up ears maybe? Ha, not a cream cracker reference. 🙂 In the Crucible, as it has seats on three sides, there is every opportunity for cast and audience to engage and interact. Ah I love it. We were near the front and I think it was a daft bit when Dad and Jacob’s glances met and they both had to stay poker faced despite the merriment of the occasion.

  4. OH happy memories! I clicked on the link back to your previous post with the link to Philip Schofield as Joseph. I’m not sure how long Joseph ran for, and I seem to remember that sometimes it was him and sometimes it was Jason Donovan, however I ended up seeing it three times – London, Edinburgh and then London again – and each time it was, completely by chance, Philip Schofield. I thought he was excellent. We bought the soundtrack after we had seen the show and it was the soundtrack to many a long car journey for years to come. 🙂

  5. I adore this musical! I’ll play the narrator, if you ever put on a production…

Leave a Reply

