Wee Scoops

Measure for Measure

Craving Structure

Uncharacteristically, it has been party, party, party. And party, in fact. (I wrote that line yesterday. If you take today into account, you have to add in party and party. Unseasonal birthdays 🙄  )

We’ve slipped into a state of slight nocturnality and my day structure is all skew whiff. I accidentally had lunch twice today. I have brie and crackers, then forgot and had leftover curry. (Again, this was yesterday – today I was more successful in meal counting).

Hopefully I can make it to training tomorrow and shake a bit of fresh air and discipline into myself. (Again I wrote this yesterday…)

(This is now today.) And yes, I made it to training. I was very excited when I got up early for my two-hours-before-exercise Ready Brek; the roof was taking a pounding from some beasting precipitation. Sadly, by 10am it had eased and it was, sort of, a lovely day. It was certainly “warm” given the fact that it should be freezing.

The class was great – but I did suffer on two fronts: overeating and missing classes/classes not being on. Oof. It’s the first time in ages that the class made me feel sick. And I even passed on the opportunity to have dessert last night so as to minimise the morning fat-feeling.

So I don’t think I will be promoting myself into the next group just yet – not unless a whole lot of obese New-Year-Resolution people pitch up and make me look more uncannily like Jessica Ennis than I already do 😉

Great CityGames Manchester 2010: Jessica Ennis...

Great CityGames Manchester 2010: Jessica Ennis getting set in the blocks. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

So, the Thornton’s toffee is nearly gone; I’ve made significant headway with the Guylian chocolates (two with every cup of tea, or four) ; the cheese remains untouched in the fridge.

Today Daughter#2 chose “the ultimate chocolate cupcake” from ASDA as husband’s birthday cake and I can’t face it just yet. Not after all the pizza…

I cannot wait for New Year when I can return to my frugal and minimalist culinary habits.

:mrgreen:

Of course, I should just stop eating; donate the cheese collection to Hogmanay’s ceilidh and revert to a depressing wee Weightwatchers’ meal every time I feel a bit peckish – but I wouldn’t want to miss out on the important cultural engagement with the no man’s land that is the week between Christmas and New Year: when everyone forgets what day it is; imagines they will get lots of useful domestic tasks completed; sleeps at random and inappropriate times and eats nothing that isn’t coated in chocolate.

Roll on January 🙂

Single Post Navigation

10 thoughts on “Craving Structure

  1. Cathy Baker on said:

    Andrea and I were just commenting on your improved speed since starting bootcamp! I’m thinking red vest-tastic come January i.e.next Saturday!!!!!

  2. Your last paragraph describes my life exactly! Apart from the Hogmany ceilidh – now that I am living ‘down south’ it will be a New Year’s Eve party. 😉

  3. I like the no man’s land imagery. I’m very proud of you for continuing with your training during the holiday season. You are showing incredible discipline, that is so wonderful! Hooray for you!

  4. “the important cultural engagement with the no man’s land that is the week between Christmas and New Year: when everyone forgets what day it is; imagines they will get lots of useful domestic tasks completed; sleeps at random and inappropriate times and eats”

    That describes our day, today, exactly. Have you been spying? 😆

Leave a Reply

