Wee Scoops

Measure for Measure

Bangs and Whimpers

Bonfire night.

I’m not into that.  I have a childhood memory of a firework banging into the side of my shoe and a big man whisking me up out of the way before it went off. I don’t know if this memory is real, or if I just watched one too many Government Health Advice Ads in the 1970s.

But there’s always the risk. Even when they say “Go to an organised display”, there’s usually a news report of some mis firing disaster. Not worth it.

However, I went out to training at the park as usual in the freezing dark, where every ned and his homies decided to congregate and set off mutipacks of fireworks.

It was the closest thing to Divali in Calcutta back in 1997 when the whole place was alight with teenagers setting fire to whole boxes of fireworks in the middle of the street. Eek!

However, I was training away – doing my laps, press ups and squats and running through the pitch black over uneven terrain – and with all the whizzing and banging it made me think of how disorienting it must be to be in any kind of a war zone. Pitch black one minute – all light and sound the next. But the similarity ends there.

Now… here’s a thing… if Scotland became independent…. would we stop celebrating Guy Fawkes night? Would we?

I think we are too glaikit to spot the irony, and will carry on, grinning inanely and setting fire to things that go bang.

Although, maybe it is  “a good thing” to celebrate the foiling of a terrorist plot, no matter whether or not you are still technically part of that country any more.

Yeah. We’d still have it.

A Roman Candle set off on Bonfire Night

A Roman Candle set off on Bonfire Night (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Bangs and Whimpers

  1. You are amazing to me. I am in awe of your dedication. I did my walking every morning for close to three years and I think that I hung up my shoes because I went overboard. I still walk three times a day but not as gung ho as I used to. Great job!

    • It’s a surprise to me that I like it this much! I hated sports all my life and only got fit after I had children.
      It is amazing how a freezing night becomes a pleasantly cool evening by the time the training is over 🙂

  2. Well the original target, James I, was also known as James VI of Scotland so you could legitimately still celebrate bonfire night.

    Personally, I think you are in more danger of being mugged/raped/murdered by going out at night alone than you are of being maimed by a stray firework 🙂

  3. That’s a good point about whether Scotland would still celebrate Guy Fawkes night if they became independent. I hadn’t thought about it, and now that I have thought about it I’m still not sure! 🙂

Leave a Reply

