Wee Scoops

Measure for Measure

Knee-jerk reaction

I once heard one of the trainers tell one of my fitness comrades that it was important to have a day off once in a while to let the muscles recover and strengthen. I am a BIG believer in that. Even moreso now I have developed sore knees. I think this is as a result of overdoing squats, or overdoing squats wrongly at least. Either that or it is lunges I am overdoing or overdoing wrongly. But it is something knee related.

When I was meant to be holding a squat for an ETERNITY and took a break, he asks, “What’s going on there?” I replied, “Knee anxiety…” and he says “Now I’ve heard it all.”

English: Front side of the left knee.

English: Front side of the left knee. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

So today I am having a day off.

I tried to fabricate a day that one might imagine one might have during a career break. So I did a round of Tesco, took myself for a coffee and went shopping for bargains.

In Tesco I only wanted to get dishwasher tabs and J-cloths. I spent about £50 and bought neither. Forgot, until I was through the checkout. Easily done.

Green logo used from 1987-2010, still being us...

Green logo used from 1987-2010, still being used as a secondary logo. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

In Starbucks I felt like a fish out of cultural water. I find myself unable to use their nomenclature for drink size. She asks “What size for your tea?” and I look at the board and think, nope, can’t do it. “Small.”

Schuh don’t have the boots I want and I can’t bring myself to buy trail shoes for training, even though I need trail shoes for training. I can’t bring myself to buy shoes that I know I will wreck in a single evening.

Maybe I am just not cut out for shopping.

I’ll maybe practise the ‘going for a coffee’ thing, although I don’t ever think I could order anything “tall” or “grande” or whatever ‘large’is these days.

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Knee-jerk reaction

  1. The Starbucks nomenclature is weird, it took me awhile to get used to saying Venti. Be nice to your knees, you need them. Squats and lunges can be brutal, I know that there are specific exercises that strengthen the muscles surrounding the knees perhaps your trainer can show you a few and that would help with the squats.

  2. The Tesco thing made me laugh. I used to do it all the time; now I always have a shopping list with me.

Leave a Reply

