Wee Scoops

Measure for Measure

Job Done!

No, I haven’t completed the first draft of the novel…

Four years ago we were getting a garage conversion. The workmen had been doing the kitchen extension for a while, and we knew  they were about to move onto the garage conversion.

And the garage was filled with junk. So I kept thinking, “I really must empty the garage so that they can do the garage conversion.”

But one day, they got ahead of me and emptied the garage onto the back lawn and covered the contents of the garage with a big tarpaulin weighed down with some rubble. So I kept thinking, “I really must sort out that junk under that tarpaulin before there is torrential rain, or it gets really windy.”

But one day, it was really windy and really rainy; the tarpaulin came away and all the stuff started … dispersing itself around the garden,

So I wedged it all down the side of the house. So I kept thinking, “I really must go through all that stuff at the side of the house before it disintegrates and becomes of no use to man or beast.”

The Passage of Time

The Passage of Time (Photo credit: ToniVC)

And, slowly, Time got out of his winged chariot and gradually began blurring the edges between “junk” and “garden”, allowing moss to grow on plastic, wood to swell and burst, metal to rust and once-identifiable objects to become …

ANYWAY

So – today – I scraped it all up, put it into the car, and took it to the tip!

It took an hour.

That’s better.

Single Post Navigation

9 thoughts on “Job Done!

  1. theotheri on said:

    Thank you for sharing: what a consolation to know I’m not the only one.

  2. I have to say that I thought I was reading about something that I did. There are certain chores that are just hard to get yourself up to doing. On that note, good for you!

  3. Rickster on said:

    So what you’re saying is that I need to take a year off from my job in order to have a clear garage/garden? I think I’d need two years for my loft…

    • Absolutely. You’ll NEVER get your garage/loft done. On a day for that kind of job, you’d be off doing something with boats or bikes. Don’t kid yourself that your life has room for decluttering.

Leave a Reply

