Wee Scoops

Measure for Measure

Flatter to Deceive

Scalpel small

Scalpel small (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

The scalpel gleams in the theatre lights.
Pale green gowns, white masks:
Faceless goons.

I can make you beautiful.
Let me deliver you from ugliness.
I’ll slice a snake of pizza dough
To a proving dish.

Life and art collide
In a ghastly carving.

A fold of old skin
Rests in a piece.

Hide the gaping redness
With neat, neat stitches:
Tight, tiny and tidy.

Flatter to deceive.

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Flatter to Deceive

  1. If I had ever contemplated plastic surgery, this cured me. After going through the procedure of a skin graft years ago, I can safely say that I don’t have the courage to go under the knife again especially only for an unrealistic hold on youth.

Leave a Reply

