Wee Scoops

Measure for Measure

Maybe I should have been a doctor after all…

I’m not a doctor. Which is sort of surprising, as everyone in my family is a doctor, and being brought up in a medical home, the world looks kind of… doctory.

But, as a career-choosing teenager, I didn’t “do” blood, and I didn’t “do” vomit, so I thought I’d hole up for a few years, read a few books, drink a few coffees….

Maybe I should have done Medicine. There would surely have been some advantages. I’d know a good few obscure words for use in Scrabble, if nothing else.

It’s only now, with nine years of motherhood behind me, I can see that blood and vomit happen, I can deal with it, and it shouldn’t have been a career-breaker.

Not that I regret it. It’s just a thought. Life could have gone another way. If I had had to clean up vomit before the age of thirty-and-a-half, I might have taken Biology and Physics instead of History and RE…. ho hum…

What a dull year that might have turned out to be 😉

Single Post Navigation

13 thoughts on “Maybe I should have been a doctor after all…

  1. So glad you made the choices you did- for several reasons! Your brain is far too creative to just learn anatomy , pathology and drug interactions. Yawn. Proud to have a sister who is a poet! And hopefully and author soon…

  2. I was thinking of all the poems that might have arisen from such content . . . 😉

  3. Funny, when I was younger I wanted to be a surgeon for the longest time until I developed an essential tremor, killed that dream. I still regret not pursuing it at times. It is amazing how being a mother makes you immune to vomit, blood and guts. If I had been a doctor I probably wouldn’t have been a mother or a wife. An ambitious doctor tends to be alone in the U.S.

    • I don’t regret my choices. Too much study and silly training hours. And the fact that it is life and death and everything inbetween. Bit of a life choice, as you point out.

  4. You would have been in two more classes with me. No dullness allowed!! However, I think you went the right way in the end.

Leave a Reply

