Wee Scoops

Measure for Measure

So I’m lying low in a darkened room, ’cause…

Suddenly…
All the kids’ bikes have only one wheel,
And the adults are one-legged at a distance
Or have half a face in close-up.

I’m reluctant to talk;
My tongue may be tied,
Tethered far from my meaning.

I can’t drive home.
I can’t see the road.
I’ll wait.

Head in hands; eyes closed.
Numbness prickles my right hand.
Numb tongue.

Light sears;
Sight clears.
Too bright, too bright.

I can drive home now.
Running to bed
Before my head caves in.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “So I’m lying low in a darkened room, ’cause…

  1. Oh no, I remember the signs. The dreaded migraine. Feel better, I hope that it doesn’t last too long. Fantastic poem by the way.

Leave a Reply

