Wee Scoops

Measure for Measure

Schoom! What was that?

In this clip, Basil says, “Schoom! What was that? That was your life, mate. Oh, that was quick – do I get another? Sorry mate, that’s your lot…”

If life continues to accelerate at its current rate, by the time I have retired, I’ll be nothing but a blur.

Not that you’d think so to look at me, what with my non-paid-work lifestyle: sitting in cafes while my children do aerobic exercise under some more palatable heading than ‘aerobic excerise’.

Unless you count my exercise regime which doesn’t sound palatable at all, but is very fun, if a little DARK these days…

And all such exercise, resulting in potential calorie loss is undermined daily – and especially this weekend – as it was Son of Sanstorm’s 9th birthday! I managed to make a completely brilliant cake, complete with ganache-esque frosting that leaked all over the cake and cake stand resulting in a kind of chocolate-fountain-cum-top-hat effect. Luckily I had a squad of relatives in, so they ate it, so I didn’t have to have that ‘leftover’ thing.

So, if time is going in a bit quick, what do you do? Get younger? Do more? Do less? Travel?

I’m in my own relay race, but I am the baton, passed from pick-up to drop off to pick up to drop off.

This isn’t a moan – I am enjoying every marrow-sucked minute of it 🙂

Single Post Navigation

7 thoughts on “Schoom! What was that?

  1. … And it keeps on speeding up …. Actually, a year or so ago I treated myself to eight months of non work, and strangely enough there was never enough time – for anything. What to do? Buckle up and enjoy the ride!
    BTW, that frosting… looks good enough to have me considering licking the screen!

  2. I love the baton metaphor, brilliant! Time keeps ticking, now that the children have stopped growing it seems to have slowed down somewhat, days don’t go by in a blur like they used to, I feel like I can take a breath so that’s a good thing. I hope that the same happens to you when your brood grow up.

  3. Jesus said that in the Last Days, the days would be shortened . . .

    Happy Birthday to S.O.S. 🙂

  4. I blogged about a related thing a year or so ago. Its not that time speeds up, its just that our perception of time is skewed by the sum of our perceptions to date. Thus, when you’re 10, a year is 1/10th of your life, but when you’re approaching 40 (sorry for mentioning it), a year is only 1/40th of your life. That’s between 4.5 and 10 times faster than your kids perceive time passing…

    The sums are quite scary, when you apply this logic to life, see my blog:
    http://rickycarvel.blogspot.co.uk/2011/02/perception-of-time.html

  5. I also have a theory that having children forces you to live in the present rather than hankering after the future or reflecting on the past. You are so busy with their timetable that you are always living in the “now”; until you have a sudden moment to yourself and you realise that Christmas is round the corner again and it feels like you only just put the decorations away.

    • Christmas is a large plank that is spun around to hit me in the face repeatedly, on an annual basis, without time for recovery in between.
      If it hadn’t been for the Incarnation itself, I’d be putting in a complaint.

Leave a Reply

