Wee Scoops

Measure for Measure

Caught in an educational flurry

If I was Marty McFly, this weekend would be November 5th 1955. But I am not. But this was a weekend when “everything intersects”. I managed to book into two two-day courses that managed not to overlap by just one hour. So my brain has been funnelling and filtering information since Friday lunchtime until Sunday evening and now ma heid is mince.

It’s not often that I sit and listen to anyone else teaching me – Sunday morning aside, and anything on the TV that is informative – so I was interested not only in the courses I was attending, but also how I would cope with being on the receiving end.  I am usually a bad student, because usually I am present under duress, and willing the time away without being willing or able to make my brain engage with the content that I resent having to listen to. I doodle on a notepad, think of *hilarious* quips to side-whisper to my neighbour and draw the presenter. And think up jokes. And write haikus.

English: Boredom Italiano: Noia

English: Boredom Italiano: Noia (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

It’s very bad. Rude, also. I am a very impatient learner, so I wondered how I would do on courses I wanted to take.

Would I be able to restrain myself from grabbing the mic? Would I take notes? Would I be the only one without a laptop? Would I be the youngest? Oldest? Most irritating for other participants? Dominant? Overwhelmed? Able to follow the content?…

Student learning charasterictics

Student learning charasterictics (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

The first course began with quite a lot of listening – but I was interested, so that was good.  There was an individual practical activity that was kind of interesting and then there was group work. I got to hold the marker pen and do the flip chart bit, so that was good 🙂

The second course involved a lot of listening, recall, and kinaesthetic memory strategies. Again, I was interested and despite my brain being in meltdown; I managed not to feel like grabbing the mic and I followed the content all to the end.

So, on this educational study (of one)  what I conclude is this (when the student is me):

1. The student learns more effectively when they are not present under duress.

2. The student can cope with hugely differing teaching styles when they want to learn what they are being taught.

3. The student appreciates breaks.

Sometimes I am an impatient listener. I hate waffle, banter and gaps and faffing – but both courses were entirely dense with learning, so I didn’t really will the presenters to hurry up at all.

Now I need to let my brain settle down and see what interesting gems surface from the last 48 hours of input.

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Caught in an educational flurry

  1. You are making me tired, just reading about this!!! Whew! I’m so glad it is you and not me!!! 😉

  2. Since you are the willing participant, that is half the battle. The unwilling will find anything to get in the way of the learning process, for any good teacher most of the work involves converting the unwilling into the willing. Good for you!

  3. I love courses and workshops and seminars and attend any that are going for free.

    Lucy you – two in one day!

    And I’m glad you enjoyed yourself.

Leave a Reply

