Wee Scoops

Measure for Measure

I question the reasoning behind cars having carpet and wish that they could have lino.

I cleaned out the interior of my car today.

🙂

Why oh why oh why is my car lined with that fluffy lining carpetty stuff that pretty much all cars are lined with? It’s almost like one half of velcro, specially designed to attract hair, dirt, dust, bits of leaf, sequins, pine needles, fragments of sweet wrappers and microscopic bits of chocolate.

All of these things manage to intertwine themselves with the wiry carpetty mesh so that even dysoning at close quarters with the additional gadgetty bits doesn’t really make it clean. I was on the verge of getting a pair of tweezers and plucking the carpet.

Could they not make cars without carpet and generate some kind of lino equivalent? Why carpet?

It’s not as if cars even have a hallway or a boot room to store outdoor footwear. We go straight from the beach back to the car. We go straight from the mud back to the car. We go straight from the grass back to the car. So there’s going to be sand. There is going to be mud. There is going to be grass.

Chocolate.

Apple cores.

Biscuit.

Coins.

Shells.

Pen lids.

Hair bands.

Straws.

Tissues.

Anyway. I managed to get one big bag of things to “go through” and one big bag for the bin. I have dysoned as thoroughly as is humanly possible and used a pack of ‘dashboard wipes’ on the interior non-carpetty bits.

Annoyingly, after I finished, I discovered a whole other pair of crevasses packed with crushed breadsticks and bits of plastic, but the dyson was back in the house by then.

But, I suppose, if I am ever feeling peckish on the move…. 😉

Single Post Navigation

One thought on “I question the reasoning behind cars having carpet and wish that they could have lino.

  1. I was going to say it gets better, but who am I kidding? There is a marked difference in the cleanliness of the car after my hubby has used it for a few days, the old children aren’t much better either. The Velcro carpeting needs to go, vinyl would be so much easier.

Leave a Reply

