Wee Scoops

Measure for Measure

Having an Indiana Jones moment, I think

Which movie is this scene in? I can’t remember.

Indiana Jones has gone through a gauntlet of cunning traps and ends up at a crevasse where he needs to make a leap of faith, as the bridge he needs to cross is invisible.

He consults his little diary and sees a diagram of someone walking confidently out into mid-air and is heartened.

He is no fool though, is Indie, so he takes a handful of dirt and throws it over the bridge and – hey – the bridge sort of appears. And off he steps…

I am standing at such a crevasse.

I am having a career break! *uncharacteristic excited yelp* For the next YEAR I will get up in the morning, actually EAT my breakfast, and think: I don’t think I’ll go into work today.

😎

There are literally HOURS of working time left before I step out onto the invisible bridge of A VOID and see if there is life beyond work.

There will be, I suspect.

Mine, I suspect, Galatians 2 verse 20 notwithstanding.

I love my job. It is really fun and it doesn’t involve phones. I will miss it, while at the same time I suspect the year will go in too quickly. It will be nice to hang out with the children and read them more books.

I have all kinds of unrealistic plans. Well, I have all kinds of plans – all of which are realistic in isolation – but one year and too many targets… it will be interesting (for me anyway) to see what I actually do…

Will I just eat curry and watch CSI on loop?

Will I write 3000 words a week and have a novel by the time I turn 40?

Will I lose weight, get fit and come to be known as “The Whippet”?

Will I have an efficiently run household with laminate signs everywhere detailing rules and procedures?

So, consider this post a handful of dirt over an invisible bridge.

When I step out, I may turn out to be like a cartoon character who shoots off into nothingness, pedals furiously and plummets.

Never mind.

At least it’ll be something to blog about.

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Having an Indiana Jones moment, I think

  1. Congratulations on your new journey! Try not to turn into a Whippet, they are so tiny. This is going to be fun, for you and for us, your followers.

  2. There are two mistakes one can make on the road to truth.
    Not going all the way and not starting.

  3. Rickster on said:

    Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade…

    Also I’ll call you ‘Whippet’ even if you don’t lose weight and become fit, if you want.

    And no to the laminated signs. Just no.

Leave a Reply

