Wee Scoops

Measure for Measure

Petulant about Pets

We are never getting a pet. We never were getting a pet. Getting a pet was never on the agenda.

Despite this, Daughter#2 chose to throw a tantrum because we are not getting a pet. Who ever said anything about getting a pet? Son of Sanstorm and Daughter#1 are used to the idea. They know that when they move out and get a place of their own to live they are perfectly free to get a pet. I have no problem with that.

My facebook friends were full of sage advice. Most of it boiled down to “Get a pet”. Others encouraged me to hold my ground.

Here is my pet history:

Frisky

This was my sister’s rabbit. I think it was half brown and half white. All I remember about it was that it had a chicken-wire run. And it died. It was sad.

Toffee

This was MY guinea pig. He was an Abyssinian cavy (?) with ginger and black fur that had kind of circles of hair radiating out from lots of crowns – I don’t know if that makes any sense. He used to go “POY, POY, POY,” and scrabble about in a hutch at the back door. His food looked the same as his poo. He used to be able to do a cool thing with dandelion leaves – sooking them in the same manner as a skilled child with spaghetti.

I wrote a poem about him. It began:

My guinea pig’s called Toffee
His ears are rather floppy
It’s never time for sleeping
It’s always time for eating.

I can’t remember the rest, but it has been about 32 years since I wrote it…

My friend’s brother called him Chocolate, just to annoy me.

I didn’t like to touch him. I held him twice. My sister (owner of the by then deceased Frisky) took to do with him. He had wee scratchy feet and pee that looked like watery milk.

Sometimes he would be decanted into a washing basket while we cleaned out the hutch. Scraping all the sawdust and poo away, disinfecting the floor and then re-stocking the hutch with sawdust and straw.

Then he grew a huge growth on his neck and, I believe, died under the knife.

Morecambe and Wise.

I had some disease or other – maybe measles or German measles and someone gave me fish. I have no memory of them apart from they were there and I was in bed. I doubt they lasted long.

 Reginald and Troy

These were goldfish that my *friends*  bought me for my 21st. Thanks guys. I named them after Reggie Perrin from the … what was it?… “The Fall and Rise of Reginald Perrin” and Sergeant Troy from “Far from the Madding Crowd” – both of whom faked their own deaths by leaving their clothes on a beach. Reginald and Troy had to go through a lot, living with students. They survived all my toaster-related escapades, and they survived shuttle running between Glasgow and St Andrews on my knee in the car.

Eventually they died.

So, those were my pets. I didn’t really like them. I didn’t like to handle them. They just made me anxious about them.

I’m just not a pet person.

We are never getting a pet.

Single Post Navigation

11 thoughts on “Petulant about Pets

  1. Scotstig on said:

    I thought the pre-marital Sanstorm family had a dog….. Must be wrong, maybe it was “borrowed”.

    Just remember…….

    A dog is for life, not just for Christmas,
    A turkey is for Christmas, not for life……

  2. Don’t be worn down! The RSPCA will have you on their hit list for sure 🙂

  3. I admire those who don’t get pets because they know that they don’t want pets. I think that you should absolutely stick to your resolve and your little ones will appreciate their future pets in their own homes that much more because of your resolve. Trust me, 90 percent of the time, it is the mom who does the pet work of everything. Despite all the promises made by the little ones.

  4. I respect your no pets policy.
    You do have a problem though.
    Daughter2 has a gift.
    An empathy with all sentient life.
    I wish you all luck.

    • Hola Miguel
      Maybe she and you can skype tomorrow? Show her a Spanish cat or something? I took her to the farm place at ek and we saw some pigs and hens. It’s a bank hol tomorrow so the skype facilitator will be at home.

  5. theotheri on said:

    We always had at least one dog when I was growing up on the farm, gold fish, of course cows and pigs and chickens. I couldn’t wait to get away.

    Then as an adult my husband and I got a guard dog because we were being harassed by wanna-be burglars. Then we got a second dog to keep the first company when we were at work. I cannot tell you the influence they had on my life and how much they contributed to my understanding of all of life.

    But they weren’t my childhood pets. We cared for them and they cared for us and for each other when we were adults. So childhood pets don’t always do their magic.

    On the other hand – and I hate to tell you this because I rather sympathize with your view that you don’t want to add pets to your household – I have seen children come alive as a result of their relationship with their pets. Sometimes it is a cure for shyness, for fear, for feelings of inferiority. Sometimes it’s just a royal road to a seeing a whole different world.

    Like Miguel Sanchez, I wish you luck!
    Terry

  6. Spoon on said:

    Reginald and Troy………are they not working on Sky Living handing out dodgy interior design advice…..

Leave a Reply

