Wee Scoops

Measure for Measure

I’m Not Slithering!

I was texting a friend about the fact that I am swithering between a couple of options for what to do tomorrow.

The auto correct on my iPhone kept making ‘ swithering’ ‘slithering’. A number of times.

So either I take to my belly for the evening as I decide what to do… Or swithering’ isn’t a real word.

It is a real word. Phew. Even in my English dictionary. But it does say it’s chiefly Scots.

But if you were to swither in Standard English, what would you be doing?

I had a look at “dithering” but I think it has connotations of physical indecision rather than mental?

Is there a verb, like, ambivalating?

So, if you are thinking in Standard English and are torn between two options and are oscillating between them in your mind… are you swithering? Or is there another word?

Single Post Navigation

11 thoughts on “I’m Not Slithering!

  1. I don’t care – I love this word! I’ve never heard of it until now, but it describes the action perfectly.

  2. Swithering makes me think of dithering, I like it. Auto correct can be a lot of fun usually at someone else’s expense. Swithering, I just got auto corrected with the word, I typed swither and auto correct made it Swithering . It’s officially recognized.

  3. I guess vascilating would be the nearest equivalent but swithering is a much better word.

  4. theotheri on said:

    Dithering, though, is not limited to physical indecision. It was a word used to describe John Major as prime minister, and I’m sure they weren’t talking about whether he stepped right or left first.

    But agreed: swithering (new to me too) is in a class of its own.

  5. Vascilating for me. 🙂
    Or deciding.
    Or torn between two ideas.
    We’re rather straight-line thinkers, here.

  6. I’m a little late to this party, but I also suggest vacillating. My Webster’s New World Dictionary of the American Language (which may or may not be as reputable as Standard English, after all we favor dropping our superfluous “u’s”) does not even recognize swithering. However, it does specifically define vacillate as meaning to waver in mind or show indecision. I should infinitely prefer to be a vacillator than a switherer; just like your iPhone I get it mixed up with slitherer, and when I think slither, I think snake, and snake and slither makes me think of Slytherin, and we all know from Harry Potter that it’s no good to be a Slytherin. Hope this helps 🙂

Leave a Reply

