Wee Scoops

Measure for Measure

News to Me: Ten Parenting Epiphanies

A friend recently shared her top ten parenting insights in a post: “10 Things I Never Knew About Parenting”.

I thought I would have a go; here are mine:

  1. If you ever want to leave the house, start leaving the house or you never will.
  2. A successful day is one that begins at 6.30am.
  3. It isn’t food; it is leverage.
  4. 8am is not early.
  5. Consistency is all well and good in theory.
  6. Any coping strategy that worked should be celebrated and tidily archived. But bear in mind that a new one will be needed tomorrow.
  7. Reading “Winnie the Pooh” or any heinous-Disney-book-of-the-film-atrocity is guaranteed to send me to sleep.
  8. Evenings?
  9. Children are all different. The same child can also be different.
  10. Despite all evidence to the contrary, I am the grown up. So I’d better get on with it.

So, there you go.

I’m not in a misty-eyed, schmaltzy mood. Had I been, this list would be different.

As noted in point 6, every day is an opportunity to learn something new. What might I learn tomorrow? You know, I don’t even want to think about it. I’ll enjoy the good in today and deal with tomorrow tomorrow.

 

Single Post Navigation

7 thoughts on “News to Me: Ten Parenting Epiphanies

  1. Love it, especially #9!

  2. Excellent list. I fancy #6, myself. Number nine bears keeping in the forefront of the parenting mind as well. The parental mood counts for something as you stated so well at the end.

  3. #11. If you want to leave the house at 6:30, the baby will create a super diaper at 6:29.

Leave a Reply

