Wee Scoops

Measure for Measure

Deep Thoughts: What there might be…Way Down In the Middle of The Ocean…

Today, James Cameron, of “Titanic” fame, went down to the bottom of the sea, into the Mariana Trench, where no man has gone before. Touch of the Star Trek.

He said, according to the BBC:

 “It turns out to be quite a sterile, almost desert-like place.”

I’m glad I wasn’t there. Miles of sea above your head, hoping against hope the sub isn’t compromised, causing a catastrophic implosion. To be food for the (lack of ) fishes.

It reminded me of one time I was called upon to teach the “Dei Profundis”, not having a scooby what it meant. “Out of the depths…”, apparently. It’s from Psalm 130, which begins,

 “Out of the depths, I cry to you, Lord”

and ends,

 ” [The Lord] himself will redeem Israel from all their sins”

Which reminds me, are “the depths” not where the sins of the world are meant to have gone to? Here’s a bit of Micah chapter 7:

You will again have compassion on us;
you will tread our sins underfoot
and hurl all our iniquities into the depths of the sea.

So, in the Psalm, it is the Psalmist that is in the depths. In Micah, it is where sins are cast. My brain is also bringing Psalm 139 to the surface… hold on… here we go:

Where can I go from your Spirit?
Where can I flee from your presence?
If I go up to the heavens, you are there;
if I make my bed in the depths, you are there.

So, Mr Cameron wanted to reach the depths of the sea.

Most of the rest of us are happy with a grasp of the depths as a concept that does not involve an oxygen tank: where we are when we need to cry for help; where God will hurl our iniquities; where we know our God would be, were that where we were to go to try to avoid him…

Maybe thinking too much about the “Titanic” can only lead you one way. I’m happy to stay on dry land.

So, are you tempted to go and get a robust sub and go for a look see?

Single Post Navigation

10 thoughts on “Deep Thoughts: What there might be…Way Down In the Middle of The Ocean…

  1. Scotstig on said:

    Yeah, I would get a robust sub, given the chance. Knowledge and wisdom can be beautiful things. I think the Lord wants us to explore every part of it otherwise we would still believe the world is flat.

    Life is not sedentary activity it is a voyage of discovery with The Lord as the best travelling companion. In true William T. Kirk fashion I would rather boldly go than coweringly sit.

    The Lord is everywhere, those who hide from Him only hide from themselves.

  2. Do I have to leave an answer, I think you know what mine would be. OF COURSE I WOULD, what an opportunity! Literally speaking the ocean depths are the last great unexplored wilderness on our planet. It seems every time a deep sub is sent down there new species are discovered and wonderous things about our world revealed. If we all stayed at home or within the bounds of our safety net then humanity would never have left Tanzania and we’d still be Hunting and Gathering. It’s our insatiable curiosity, boundless enthusiasm for lighting up the darkness of our ignorance and the irrational belief in our immortality that fuels human endeavor.

    Besides, from my point of view this is it, no chances to go exploring once my four score and ten are done; once the fuel cells run out I’m not going to be magically transported to a great library or observation room . Life is too short not to make the most of it.

    • I am more pro sea exploration than space exploration. I think there is more chance of finding out about our planet… on our planet.
      I like to see pics of hag fish and other bottom feeders. But I am happy with the pics. Keen scientists can go look see.

  3. I can understand the lure of the depths from a scientific curiosity, but having had the scary experience of having almost drowned at 130 feet while scuba diving all those years ago was enough to stop any further curiosity. I know that we as people are a curious bunch.

  4. As a postscript I would like to admit that whilst traversing the ocean depths in a sub is fine with me, diving through caves is not. Totally irrationally the idea it seems fine if there is a direct path between me and the surface of the water but fist eatingly terrifying if not. I am however, totally in favour of others doing it!

  5. Not a chance. Could barely manage to watch ‘The Abyss’, never mind live it.

Leave a Reply

