Wee Scoops

Measure for Measure

The Villain, Elle.

Unknown to me, it was the Villain, Elle.
She caught me in repetitive refrains,
But now I know she did not treat me well.

I had a gripping narrative to tell.
I hoped to frame it in some neat quatrains.
Unknown to me, it was the Villain, Elle:

She set the form and into it I fell:
I felt the rhyme-scheme as a set of chains,
But now I know she did not treat me well.

Imagination found this form a knell;
What it had lost was not made up with gains:
Unknown to me, it was the Villain, Elle.

Inside my brain I thought with every cell,
But found my story going down the drains
For now I know she did not treat me well.

Trapped here with Villain Elle I want to yell,
And from her take back these poetic reins.
Unknown to me, it was the Villain, Elle,
And now I know she did not treat me well.

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “The Villain, Elle.

  1. No, but you treated her magnificently!

    Do you know my friend vivinfrance? She tackles these difficult forms with gusto. You two have a lot in common.

    Excellent.

  2. It has a haunting quality, gives chills the villain Elle

Leave a Reply

