Wee Scoops

Measure for Measure

I refuse to entitle this post “Eggsodus”…

(Apologies in advance if I have any of my facts wrong about the Seder. I am still researching/googling.)

20120228-091546 PM.jpg

It seems a long time now since I was madly sourcing plastic frogs, locusts and hail; making bricks without straw and figuring out how to recreate the parting of the Red Sea.

That was only August 2011. However, I am once again sourcing props for the Exodus, or, more accurately, sourcing props for remembering the Exodus. More accurately than that, I am sourcing props for when Jesus remembered the Exodus, at the Last Supper.

Today I got some Matzos, some walnuts for the Charoses, and a bone thing that might pass as a lamb shank, at a distance. There are other things I need to get: horseradish, parsley or celery and a roasted egg. Also something that resembles wine. But it’s not to eat or drink, just to look at, so it doesn’t need to taste authentic.

I was just wondering, was the roasted egg on the Seder plate the reason that Christians ended up with eggs at Easter?

I have looked at a few sites and it seems that the Seder egg is both a symbol of mourning and a symbol of spring. I had heard before that the egg thing at Easter was poached (sorry) from a pagan goddess called Oestre, who was a goddess of fertility? Also there is the idea that the egg symbolises the stone rolled away from the tomb on the first Easter Sunday. Probably an amalgamation of all three.

I think that educationally, the Seder meal is great. From my memory of learning about it at school, it is the youngest member of the gathering who begins the story by asking, “What makes this night different from all other nights?” and in response to the question the ritual foods are introduced. There are other questions about the foods as the meal progressess. Each one symbolises a different part of the story of the Exodus: leaving in a hurry; bitterness of slavery; moving from hardship to a lessening of pain; being free.

Everyone involved, all the senses involved in learning to remember what happened in the past and what was hoped for in the future.

When Jesus and his disciples met on the night of the Last Supper, someone probably asked: “What makes this night different from all other nights?”

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “I refuse to entitle this post “Eggsodus”…

  1. That was very interesting, I didn’t know that an egg was involved during the Seder. As you said, it would seem likely that Easter eggs would have evolved from the Seder tradition. I always learn something of value here.

  2. A pastor of our years ago introduced our church to the Seder meal. Our first one was lead by a completed Jew. We have carried on this custom in our ministry and now lead it with men in recovery. As you said, it’s educational, and makes a good link between the old and new. Interesting how some have forgotten Jesus was Jewish. Of course in our setting, most have little church background so it’s a wonderful opportunity.

    btw, I found your blog through Katharine at Home’s Cool.

    • Hi Debby, thanks for stopping by and commenting. I find Judaism fascinating and always have. I think the way that it dovetails with Christianity, well, more than dovetailing, really. It must have been so dramatic when Jesus transformed the ending of the meal! I think I will try and write something from the point of view of one of the disciples at the Last Supper, once I have read some more about the Seder.
      Thanks again!
      🙂

Leave a Reply

