Wee Scoops

Measure for Measure

Scrolls

Dry papyrus:
Scritchety, scratchety;
In the days when things were worth writing;
Rolled in scrolls,
Stored, pored over;
Over and over.

Over.

Then the words worth it
Were bound for shelf-life:
Regimented in lines
Of shiny spines;
Booked and borrowed,
Returned for tomorrow,
Tomorrow and tomorrow.

Tomorrow.

I’ll be shelfless,
No stone, but a tablet
That will say
Whatever I want it to say.
Capturing words
From distant storage
Servers over-heating
Serving me.

We’re not burning books
They’re not just kindling
To spark our interest.

I scroll.

Millennia of indelible ink
I think
Burn indelibly:

Scrolls.

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “Scrolls

  1. Rickster on said:

    Nice.

  2. That was very lovely and for writers and readers so meaningful.

  3. No pun intended, eh? I loved this so, I read it to my hub. Loved it. I just loved it. Great job! šŸ˜€

  4. Pingback: Where do you store your information? Inside or outside your brain? « Wee Scoops

  5. Pingback: Where do you store your information? Inside or outside your brain? « Wee Scoops

Leave a Reply

