Wee Scoops

Measure for Measure

The Apostle Paul, Scout Finch and Jay Gatsby work with me on my resolve to resolve.

For once, I didn’t even get on the “Read-the-Bible-In-A-Year” wagon. I wouldn’t want to set myself up for that “Third-of-January-Guilt-But-Don’t-Worry-There’s-Infinite-Grace” syndrome on the third.

After my cardigan-losing streak, one reader pointed out that I was in good company. The apostle Paul had a similar issue:

“When you come, bring the cloak that I left with Carpus at Troas, and my scrolls, especially the parchments.  2 Timothy ch  4

With that Pauline affinity, I then went to church on New Year’s Day and it seemed to me that Paul had a resolution that any Christian should share:

 “I want to know Christ…”

Can’t really argue with that.

He goes on, and part of what he goes on to say is:

Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead, I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus.

Forgetting what is behind…? I don’t think he had knitwear in mind here.

But I do think he meant that the past is past and it shouldn’t hold us back. Nor should it make us complacent.

I feel myself about to side-step into The Great Gatsby… Perhaps I should stop here 🙂

“So we beat on, boats against the current, borne back ceaselessly into the past”.

Last line of “The Great Gatsby” by F Scott Fitzgerald.

So, pressing on, or being borne back ceaselessly? Hmm…

Ah! I was just thinking “treading water” is perhaps the solution – but Paul also gives some treading water advice, arguably. He says:

“Let us live up to what we have already attained.”

Oh no! I feel “To Kill A Mockingbird” coming on…

“Standing on the porch is enough.”

I hope that a) anyone has followed this train of thought, and that b) you find your place of Grace – be it pressing on, treading water, beating on… or standing on the porch.

Single Post Navigation

7 thoughts on “The Apostle Paul, Scout Finch and Jay Gatsby work with me on my resolve to resolve.

  1. I like standing on the porch with a cool breeze coming in from the mountains, the sunset orange red off on the horizon beyond the mountains.

  2. Maybe there’s a time for every purpose? Ha!
    Thanks for the link, dear friend, and a love the new theme, here. Not so brilliantly white–easier on my old eyes. That’s important since I spend such a lot of time here. 🙂

  3. Sometimes if you press on too hard you’re beaten back, there is a time when you need to stand on the porch and assess the situation before continuing towards the goal.
    Maybe.

  4. A wonderful post. Never thought I’d see TGG and TKAMB quoted in the same article as the Bible. Love it.

Leave a Reply

