Wee Scoops

Measure for Measure

Too Many Resolutions

Last year I had four resolutions: read, run, diet and give blood.

And I did all four. It was a poor year for books, I thought, with “The Help” being about the best, I think. I want to read a lot in 2012 also. I have got “The Talented Mr Ripley” and “Water for Elephants” and “Wasted In Love” lined up for starters. But I can’t start reading until my house isn’t a mess.

I ran also. Slowly, but I ran. And I hope to run again. Just the Glasgow Women’s 10K and I’ll hope to go a smidge faster.

Like the rest of Scotland the diet will start soon. I am looking forward to that. I over-bought on the brie and the fridge smells a bit pungent. I’ll be glad to see the back of the cheese.

I gave blood but I’ve not to give again until June because I was so faint afterwards. How pathetic.

But this year there are quite a few things I want to do in addition to maintaining the four from last year. I’ll hopefully be able to whittle it down tomorrow a bit. Here’s where the list stands:

1. Learn how to make pancakes. Pancake day was a complete fiasco and it surely can’t be that hard. If you need reminding, have a look and the pancake carnage of 2011.
2. Learn German. I think it is only polite to order your apple strudel in the language of its origin. And I want to go back to German speaking lands again in the future and want to be prepared.
3. Paint a picture.
4. Be ruthless with decluttering and chucking stuff out.
5. Finish the first draft of the Nanowrimo novel by the end of November 2012.

Maybe that’s not too many. It’s the learning German that might prove a bit tricky. Zum Glück habe ich google translate – aber ich weiß nicht, ob es eine Verwendung ist. Ich vermute nicht.

 

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Too Many Resolutions

  1. I like all your resolutions especially learning German, I agree with you about ordering one’s strudel in German. That would be grand. Making Pancakes is the husband’s forte, he puts a bit of sugar in his. He uses the pre-made mix called Bisquick. I have made crepes and they turned out well, I lost my desire for pancakes after my pregnancy binging of pancakes during the year 1991. Perhaps we’ll finish our first drafts together in 2012, I’m keeping my fingers crossed. Hard work writing a novel.

  2. theotheri on said:

    I wish you the best in relation to keeping at least the one resolution that you find most important to you.

    But more than that, I wish you a happy and fruitful 2012, and hope it is one you remember with joy for many years to come.

  3. eleanor on said:

    Learning German – how about a set of CDs for the car? And pancakes – I was rubbish at them for years but now have a good recipe which invariably seems to work so I will post that soon. Good luck with the rest of thwe resolutions and thanks for a year of blogging. It’s been great!

  4. Pingback: SMARTing my way towards 2013 « Wee Scoops

Leave a Reply

