Wee Scoops

Measure for Measure

Sanstorm’s Advent 24

Behind door twenty-four: ‘Tis the Night Before Christmas.

It’s a great poem 🙂

I always liked it and it’s almost all there in my subconscious, but I wouldn’t be able to recite it without the words. Here’s a couple of random bits that make more sense now than they did when I used to read it as a child:

The moon on the breast of the new-fallen snow
Gave the lustre of mid-day to objects below.

I think that is a well observed detail – that when you wake in mid December, you can sense whether or not there has been snow with that “lustre of mid-day” sneaking in from behind the curtains.

As dry leaves that before the wild hurricane fly
When they meet with an obstacle mount to the sky

This detail took a few years to make any sense to me. These lines describe how the sleigh takes off. I like the sense of hurry and swirling movement as the reindeer take off.

The odd thing is that the sleigh and the reindeer are described as “miniature” which they are not often described as. I mean, I know they are, well, like NOT REAL, but could Western culture get more consistent with SIZE?

Anyway, as Santa said, “Merry Christmas to all, and to all a good night!”

 

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Sanstorm’s Advent 24

  1. Merry Christmas to you and your family. I really like the poem as well but last night I watched one of our late night talk show hosts/comedians do his own take of the story using an old gag game called something like”madlibs” you ask other people for the first noun or verb that comes to mind and you insert it into the story. Well I don’t know if you can imagine Twas the night before Christmas with various nouns and verbs inserted from random t.v. stars, it made for a comical twist of our classic story. Have a wonderful Christmas Eve!

  2. I read it to my boys every year; this Christmas was no different; in fact, they remonded me because I was poorly and off early to bed. They are 15 and 21. 🙂

Leave a Reply

