Wee Scoops

Measure for Measure

Sanstorm’s Advent 8

Behind door eight…. are relatives!

*no picture – insert own picture of relis*

Relatives are what makes Christmas. I am not saying what they make it, but they do.  There’s an echo of the original Roman census when Quirinius was the governor of Syria and each went to his own home town. As usual I feel sorry for Mary being hauled to Bethlehem when I am sure she could least face travel.

The far-flung are reeled in for Christmas and everyone is counted in. Or they should be. I hope they are.

If there was a “each to his home town” census here, I wouldn’t have far to go. Like two miles or something.

I feel like watching “Planes, Trains and Automobiles” now…

 

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “Sanstorm’s Advent 8

  1. Rellies – can’t live with ’em; can’t kill ’em…

  2. Scotstig on said:

    This is really a double-edged sword as Relatives (although we moan about them) are really what make a Christmas day.

    I had the misfortune of having a Christmas time on my own many years ago due to illness and I can honestly say it was the most depressing thing imaginable because you knew that you weren’t having a great time and the rest of the world was enjoying themselves.

    At Christmas, even if you don’t have rellies to rely on, use friends as a surrogate family. If that fails use TV or the interweb. Christmas isn’t a time to be alone even if you are a loner.

  3. What Tilly said. Ditto for me.

Leave a Reply

