Wee Scoops

Measure for Measure

We Bake A Chocolate Cake Fit for a Roald Dahl Movie

Having reflected that the baking in my blood hadn’t made it past my waistline, I devoted today’s day off to a miniature version of the Great British Bake Off in my kitchen. The signature bake was apple fritters and the technical challenge was chocolate cake. As for the show stopper, it was going to be apple pie… but I’m flagging a little and the apple pie may have to wait for another day.

20111014-051750.jpg

The apple fritters I don’t think even count as baking because I had to deep-fry them. I chucked my deep fat fryer out years ago on the grounds that it was stinking, unhealthy and disgusting. I have missed it precisely once in the intervening decade, on the one occasion I made spring rolls.

So, the apple fritters? Not a great success. I blame… the batter not sticking and me not knowing how hot to have the oil in the wok. And it being a wok, not a deep-fat fryer.

20111014-051758.jpg

We then moved onto “Devil’s Food Cake” – which involved a lot of dark chocolate, eggs, muscovado sugar and butter. And sour cream. And icing sugar. And stuff.

The cakes looked and smelt great and then we decorated the cakes with the shiny thick and sweet icing. It looked just like the cake that Brucie had to eat in Roald Dahl’s “Matilda”:

20111014-051810.jpg

“The cook disappeared. Almost at once she was back again staggering under the weight of an enormous round chocolate cake on a china platter. The cake was fully eighteen inches in diameter and it was covered with dark brown chocolate icing.”

Unlike Miss Trunchball I was shouting from the sidelines that the children were NOT to feel as if they had to eat the whole piece: four layers of cake with icing inbetween….

I didn’t eat any, except for the bits that fell off the cake during the stacking and layering phase. And that was sufficient.

Hopefully today will mark a saturation point for me in terms of fat and sugar, and I can launch myself whole-heartedly into “No”vember (the concept, not the month) quite soon.

Right. Apple pie.

Single Post Navigation

8 thoughts on “We Bake A Chocolate Cake Fit for a Roald Dahl Movie

  1. Love it! Did you watch the GBBO Masterclass? By the looks of it, you might not need to!
    And remember – they always took 2 days for their challenges, so you are doing well…. leave apple pie till tomorrow!

    • The apple pie is in the oven. No doubt it will be written about before the day is out. If you’d been on this side of the country, you coulda had some…
      Hope you’re having fun in the East!

  2. Deep frying is tricky, not my favorite thing to do. The chocolate cake looks delicious.

  3. the blog is great! we loved the cake!
    H & R xxx

  4. Everytime I see a big fat chocolate cake I compare it to the one in Matilda. I’m glad to see I’m not the only one.

Leave a Reply

