Wee Scoops

Measure for Measure

So, What Kind of Kitchen Gadget Are You?:here’s a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to use the word “ignoble”.

Clearly, as kitchen gadgets go, I am like a wee scoop.

Wee scoops: useful for measuring small amounts of coffee, salt, cayenne pepper and many other things.

Last week I was prompted to consider my roles and purposes in parallel with household objects, in response to this passage:

2Timothy 2 vs 20-21

“In a large house there are articles not only of gold or silver, but also of wood and clay; some are for noble purposes and some for ignoble. If a man cleanses himself from the latter, he will be an instrument for noble purposes…”

Great word “ignoble”. Really awkward to say.

So, the suggestion is that one cleanses oneself from “ignoble purposes”. In another translation “ignoble” is “common” where “noble” is “special”.

By dealing with the negative side of life, the positive side spontaneously appears. Good replaces bad, the absence of evil leaves room for goodness.

Nice to think that nobility abhors a vacuum, perhaps.

So, I should sprinkle salt from my wee scoop to add a little flavour, or maybe some spice to give life a kick.

What kitchen gadget are you? And what’s your noble purpose?

Single Post Navigation

7 thoughts on “So, What Kind of Kitchen Gadget Are You?:here’s a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to use the word “ignoble”.

  1. I am also a rather small scoop, but used for making melon balls, perhaps. 🙂 Do they have those, there?
    And actually, I think scooping coffee is noble.
    Also, scooping any thing for children is noble, according to Jesus.

  2. My first thought when I read nobility abhors a vacuum, I immediately thought that what no need to vacuum anymore. Then, my brain clicked on, oh I get it nobility doesn’t like to be singular and alone, nobility begets nobility. I enjoy your musings so much.

  3. Sometimes I’m a bit of a mixer. For devilment and generally ignoble purposes. Sometimes a knife, cutting through to the heart of the matter, less of this faffing about please. Hopefully not a grater. Oh to be a judiciously-used salt cellar.

  4. Pingback: Ignoble Imagery « Wee Scoops

Leave a Reply

