Wee Scoops

Measure for Measure

The Hound of the Baskervilles Review

Meh.

Warning:spoilers!!

Given that the crime was presented as a huge and supernatural hound set on Baskervilles, it was disappointing to discover that the Hound of the Baskervilles was in fact… a natural hound with luminous paint on it. Very Scooby Doo.

I had never read a whole Sherlock Holmes before. I have been halfway through “a study in scarlet” for some time. So, here’s what I think:

Holmes- the reader is kept away from him, so he gets to stay largely enigmatic. He is arrogant, evasive and obsessive. He also makes a cameo in the novel as a red herring, which was successful in de-bunking my “other man” theory.

Watson- in one way he’s a great choice for a narrator. He’s intelligent but not insightful and thorough but personal. On the downside, he does go on a bit. I like the variety of stances between letters, diaries and straight narration, but, all in all… dull?

Plot: maybe I’ve seen too much CSI over the years. I suspected the other-brother-that-died-overseas as soon as he was mentioned. So there was a succession battle. I don’t know why the illegitimate son didn’t just chance it and lay claim, rather than assuming a multilayered identity and an unlikely looking sister along the way.

Setting: great choices, especially the moor. Very atmospheric and obscure. Well suited to the plot and if I had my literary hat on, I’d see the moor as a metaphor for Holmes, or Stapleton, maybe…

Single Post Navigation

4 thoughts on “The Hound of the Baskervilles Review

  1. Rickster on said:

    One of my least favourite Holmes stories. Regarding the novels, “The Sign of Four” is much better. But the real Holmes is to be found in the short stories. Try the ‘Memoirs’ collection or the ‘Return’ collection. They contain the best stories.

  2. I was not quite the Homes fan, I vaguely remember the Hound of the Baskervilles, the Moors, being the eerie part as a setting. I had always favored Agatha Christie, all of them, for detective novels.

Leave a Reply

