Wee Scoops

Measure for Measure

Lessons in Life from Scrabble #4: That’s Your Lot!

Armed with my recent reflections on Scrabble strategies, I decided to put them into action. I allowed myself to be ruthless, given that it’s only a game and the object of the game is to win.

Bring it on!

So, I found two willing opponents, ready to be thrashed by the resident wordsmith, and off we went.

I was pretty impressed with the first few turns in the game – with very dense multi-way words – although I got criticised for blocking up the board with “veto”. But I was ready for a classic night of tricky tactics.

Then I got a “Q”.

Right at the start. Not a “U” in sight. Putting my “Don’t get stuck with a Q” theories into practice, I didn’t let it faze me.

I was pleased to see someone “open up the board” also.

But still, the “Q” was with me.

🙄

Still no sign of the missing “U”s. Little did I know, one of my opponents was having that “Too Many Vowels” thing going on, balancing out my “Only Consonants” thing.

Eventually, the bag ran out of tiles and the time was ticking on. Would a “U” appear in an open word?

In the very last round an opponent finally released her “U” – right next to a triple word score!

But it was too late – I had no other letters to make anything of it. So I totally lost the game. 😳

Sometimes, no matter your wisdom or experience, things don’t go your way. That’s your lot. It depends what tiles you have.

I suppose that in life two people could have an equal hand – and it depends what they do with it – how they ‘play’ the resources that they have. But in reality, it also depends on other people and how they play, what they pick and what that leaves you.

None of us live in a vacuum, and our use of resources and our choices affect others.

And as for Scrabble wisdom – that’s your lot.

For now. 😉


Single Post Navigation

14 thoughts on “Lessons in Life from Scrabble #4: That’s Your Lot!

  1. Words of wisdom from the wordsmith. Instead of Life is like a box of chocolates, you never know what you’re going to get. We can replace it with Life is like a game of scrabble, you never know who holds the U.

  2. Jo Redwood on said:

    I am a saddo and play Scrabble on my DS – great use of the Q is make the word Qi – it’s a word apparently – something to do with the Greek letter or maybe it was Chinese medicine. Use it next time if you get lumbered with the Q!!!

  3. Great metaphor for life!

  4. WHERE DID YOU GET THAT LOVELY TABLECLOTH?!!!!!! 🙂

    • It’s my Mum’s. I think she got it on holiday somewhere in Europe. Maybe Switzerland?
      (I haven’t seen our box of scrabble for four years since we moved house, so I had to go visiting to try out my scrabble wisdom!!)

  5. Oh, that’s a relief! I thought you would tell me you made it while you were on holiday! 🙂

  6. I haven’t played scrabble in ages! I’m going to go search for my board now.

  7. But the good thing is with every game you get a new set of tiles. 🙂 Life throws some pretty stupid stuff at us but it’s important to laugh and never stop playing.

Leave a Reply

