Wee Scoops

Measure for Measure

Enter: God

Exodus Chapter 3

Moses sees the burning bush and moves in to see and hear more. Sandals off, he listens to what God has to say:

I have seen the misery of my people…

I have heard them crying…

I am concerned about their suffering…

I have come down to rescue them….

All good news as far as Moses was concerned.

Until the punchline:

So now, go. I am sending you.

Moses starts back-pedalling at this and falls into an abyss of low self-esteem. He took quite a lot of persuading to agree to the plan. And quite a lot of support strategies were suggested.

I like the way that God is presented – seeing, hearing, having compassion and being active. ย I like to imagine the look on Moses’ face as he was nodding along to God’s I have/I am list – and then suddenly paling as he heard the command, “Go!”

To get out of his flustered state, and to visualise his speech to his own people, Moses tries to clarify who God is – and God responds with:

I AM WHO I AM.

Can’t argue with a tautology. It reminds me of Hamlet wondering whether or not “to be”.

God hadn’t really appeared in Exodus until the introduction to this incident. As a character here, he is very much personified – with eyes, ears, heart, will and existence.

God is concerned about oppression and injustice.

Over to us, then…

Single Post Navigation

15 thoughts on “Enter: God

  1. It’s enjoyable to read your take on this. I look forward to see where you go with it.

  2. I am enjoying your journey with Moses and Exodus. I like your rendition better than what I grew up with.

  3. I’m enjoying it too.

  4. It’s always over to us, isn’t it! He gives us a small part of His heartbreak and then gives us the tools we can apply to it, doesn’t He . . .

  5. Without making public what is best kept private, could you tell us a little about why you are currently crossing the Red Sea? I’d be fascinated to know why you have chosen to study Exodus right now. Why not the Psalms? or Job? or Ruth? or even Genesis? (Notice I am not mystified that you are not studying Numbers…)

    • I’m doing children’s talks at a church summer club for primary children soon. The material we are basing the club on is on Exodus this year. There are some musings that I’ll not be mentioning to that audience so they are getting an airing here instead.

  6. That makes your posts on the subject doubly interesting. As a developmental psychologist I hope you might be able to give us some of the responses from your audience as well — within the limitations of respect and privacy, of course.

  7. He’s seemingly concerned with oppression and injustice but only as it pertains to *certain people*.

Leave a Reply

