Wee Scoops

Measure for Measure

Five Hundred Miles

The Daily Post asked: “Planes Trains or Automobiles? What is your favourite way to travel 500 miles?

But for any Scot, you immediately think:

500 miles would get me to the south coast of England to stay perhaps in some kind of dodgy Fawlty Towers type hotel, or to Swanage to buy a Nussnacker if they still do them in Cafe Floret…?

But, in answer to the question – if I was on my own, I’d fly on the Easy-Jet and then get trains and taxis. If I was with the family we would drive, and go over the course of three days stopping at travelodges to break the journey.

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “Five Hundred Miles

  1. Fawlty Towers, I love that show and I love the twins who sing this most excellent song. Have you ever seen the movies “Benny & Joon”? Johnney Depp, Aidan Quinn and Mary Elizabeth Masterson star in it. This is the song from the soundtrack, Johnny Depp does an excellent imitation of Buster Keaton. It is a very sweet movie.
    Thanks for the little present.

  2. I adore the Proclaimers. I also thought of this song as soon as I read the prompt.

  3. Love this song! Thought of it as soon as I saw the title of this post. Thanks for posting the song, too.

Leave a Reply

