Wee Scoops

Measure for Measure

Beds Near Windows?

I am planning to rearrange the furniture in the children’s bedrooms. When one arrangement was suggested, I found myself inhaling sharply and saying, “But then their beds will be under the windows!”

This left me wondering why this would be a problem. I think that there is perhaps an irrational deep-seated West-of-Scotland unease about “beds-near-windows” – but maybe it’s global? Or maybe it is rational…

Maybe we don’t put beds under windows because it is draughty. Which reminds me of a time I said to my son, “Close the door – there’s a draught coming in.” He looked shocked and asked, wide-eyed, “Really?” And it was then that I realised that he had thought I had said “giraffe”…

But I can discount draughts (and giraffes). There just aren’t any.

Then there is the whole issue of glass. But I think that glass has improved. It’s smashing now.

One theory was about the psychology of the bedroom – that for a child to feel secure, walls are better than windows – they feel less exposed and vulnerable. But then others remarked that it was nice to see out, and pleasant to have the security of light keeking in.

Beds near windows do have their downsides. Think of Mr and Mrs Darling returning from their night out:

They ran into the middle of the street to look up at the nursery window; and, yes, it was still shut, but the room was ablaze with light, and most heart-gripping sight of all, they could see in shadow on the curtain three little figures in night attire circling round and round, not on the floor but in the air!

From J. M Barrie’s “Peter Pan” ch 3 Come Away, Come Away

The stars  eventually opened the window so the children could fly away. But there’s plenty of light-pollution here.

I am also reminded of the first narrator of “Wuthering Heights” who has a very disturbed night when sleeping next to a window with the ghost of Cathy trying to get back in. Not good.

Then there is the nameless narrator in “Rebecca” bullied to the window by the creepy Mrs Danvers…. and then there’s Eutychus…

All in all my bed-and-window-associations are making me favour walls over windows as bed-zones.

Not that I think either Peter Pan or Cathy are likely to come calling.

Single Post Navigation

10 thoughts on “Beds Near Windows?

  1. My bed was beside the window from the age of about 8 to 17. I don’t think I suffered any ill effects. Its awesome in the summer if you have an east facing window.

  2. eleanor on said:

    Glass is indeed smashing.
    If draughts aren’t an issue my only possible concern would be whether light nights would hinder sllep more at the window. That aside, go for it.

  3. I was the same way with my two when they were younger, until the age of 10, I think. I had a fear of putting little ones next to windows. Especially, back then there were a few criminal cases where the felon grabbed kids out of their bedroom windows. I also worried about my two fooling around with the windows. My crazy window phobia, it did make me feel better having them sleep by the wall. Your post brought me back to those times of worrying about my little ones for easy reasons not like now when they are grown up.

  4. My bed was under a window as a child, with no ill effects. But I think you’ve already talked yourself out of it 🙂

  5. My brother’s bed was next to a “picture window” a huge sheet of unsupported glass about 5’x5′. And we always jumped on the beds. Forbidden, but so fun. I shudder today, to think of the disaster that could have befallen our disobedient selves. And it takes only a teensy bit of disobedience to kill a child, in this case…

    Walls.

Leave a Reply

