Wee Scoops

Measure for Measure

Nebulous Fabulousness and How I Hope To Attain It…

The Daily post asked: “Why do some people’s dreams get realized and others don’t?”

(Before I start, can I state for the record that the “z” in “realized” is annoying me – but I am going with it!)

People’s dreams are dashed through tragedy, natural disaster, political oppression, poverty, ineptitude and delusion.

For dreams to come true, they have to be realistic, the ‘dreamer’ has to have a good support network and external conditions have to be favourable. 

That is it, in brief, I think.

It also helps if the dream is defined. Then it is possible to take steps towards a known goal. Nebulous fabulousness is probably my goal – but how will I know if I have attained it?…

Also there is hard work and getting on with it. I could claim that it is my dream to write a novel. The easy way to succeed would be to… hmmm… I dunno… er….. like, actually…. “Write a Novel” – then hey: Dream realized!

So, back to “The Great Gatsby” and his dream – he failed in his attempt to realize his dream because he mistakenly thought you could repeat the past:

“I wouldn’t ask too much of her,” I ventured. “You can’t repeat the past.”
“Can’t repeat the past?” he cried incredulously. “Why of course you can!”

I could decide that it would be my dream to be a world class gymnast. This is not going to happen. If I had stuck in with the acrobatics in the early 1980s?…

(Nah… don’t think so either…)

I think I am back to Frost’s diverging roads. Once a path has been chosen – there are other paths that you didn’t take. You can’t go back and start again in the past – you have to work from the present. So, those dreams that can come true, have to be dreams based on the reality of the present.

So, do you have a dream? Is is realistic, possible, planned? Are you working hard on it?

If you acknowledge that by pursuing a dream you are shutting off zillions of possible other avenues, and if you are aware that the whole thing may be scuppered if a random unforseen event occurs that puts the kibosh on it, then it’s do-able, I’d say.  However:

” the best-laid schemes o’ mice an’ men
Gang aft agley”

Single Post Navigation

7 thoughts on “Nebulous Fabulousness and How I Hope To Attain It…

  1. I really liked the part about if you choose a path, do you then shut off a bizillion other avenues? There is always hope, look at Julis Childs, she didn’t even know that she was following her dream until it happened. So your novel is possible, I might join you with a novel myself. Our dreams are still floating in the ether.

  2. Scotstig on said:

    “Vivian: When I was a little girl, my mama used to lock me in the
    attic when I was bad, which was pretty often. And I would- I would
    pretend I was a princess… trapped in a tower by a wicked queen.
    And then suddenly this knight… on a white horse with these colors
    flying would come charging up and draw his sword. And I would wave.
    And he would climb up the tower and rescue me. But never in all the
    time… that I had this dream did the knight say to me, “Come on,
    baby, Ill put you up in a great condo.”

    Pretty Woman

    I guess this proves that dreams are your own and fluid. Much as we would love someone to come along and sweep us of our feet financially that is not going to happen.

    In many cases winning the Lottery does not make people’s dreams come true it just gives them the realisation of their dream is not about the money but who they are.

    If in dreams, you have wealth but no love or compassion you will always be poor.

    • Yes Scotstig – contentment has to come regardless of wealth. If I had more money – all I’d want is a bike. Maybe Santa will do a Richard Gere.

  3. Hey there! This was really good. May I copy and send it to a friend?

Leave a Reply

