Wee Scoops

Measure for Measure

The Last Word on Truth… from me, for now, anyway…

So, it’s my cosmic envelope, and it turns out no one else believes that it exists.

Shall I look in it?

Hold on. (sound of paper tearing)

(silence as Sanstorm begins reading)

Oh, good. I was right about that.

Oh… hold on… no WAY!

The earth is ….. WHAT shape? That’s ridiculous!

Skim, skim, skim, now, where’s the free-will section? Oh, here we go… yes, free-will does exist, even although everything is pretty much inevitable and there’s no clash… good… thought so …

Sorry guys – I haven’t got access right now to TRUTH in its cosmic envelope form. But as Mulder always suspected and I like to believe: The Truth is Out There.

But I have enjoyed the debate and in particular a couple of ideas:

From Terry – the idea that belief is what you believe strongly enough to live out. (I hope that’s what you meant!)

From Cat – the idea that it isn’t really truth that we are after – it is understanding. (Again, I hope that is what you meant!)

To have the last word on truth – I keep on thinking of Pontius Pilate:

“What is truth?” asked Pontius Pilate.

But he did not wait for an answer.

Ironically, Jesus had said:

“I am the Way, the Truth and the Life.”

Maybe it’s a person, not an envelope.

(Paul’s goal for the church in Colossae was…) that they may be encouraged in heart and united in love, so that they may have the full riches of complete understanding, in order that they may know the mystery of God, namely, Christ, in whom are hidden all the treasures of wisdom and knowledge. I tell you this so that no one may deceive you by fine-sounding arguments.

Colossians 2: 1-4

Smashing passage. My head is about to explode.

One last thing – for all the things we are sure must be true, that we are trying to figure out and living by – I have one last great quote –

“Faith is being sure of what we hope for and certain of what we do not see.”

Hebrews 11 vs 1

Doubt is on the other side of the coin it shares with faith. Maybe you trade in your cosmic coin for the cosmic envelope.

All in good time.

Or out of it, I suppose…

Single Post Navigation

10 thoughts on “The Last Word on Truth… from me, for now, anyway…

  1. eleanor on said:

    Thanks! Good round off of the arguments. I see the opening of my cosmic envelope like the conversation on the road to Emmaus (Luke 24 13-34). Looking forward to feeling that “fire burning within me” (verse 32) when I hear it all.

  2. Perfect end quote to series on truth and knowledge. I really enjoyed your treatise on knowledge.

  3. Late addition: the Pilate quote, although biblical, was really dredged up from my memory – from the beginning of Francis bacon’s essay “on truth”.
    Took a bit of googling but I found it. I feel better now!

  4. A nice round up of (final?) quotes. But I’ll bet my last penny (or pence if I pay up in pounds sterling) that this is not your Last Word. I’ve been at it for at least 30 years longer than you have, and my number of Last Words on the topic are beyond counting. And they don’t even all agree with each other…

    Great post.

  5. Fum. on said:

    Truth. Singular? Problem.

  6. Pingback: Three Hundred Wee Scoops « Wee Scoops

Leave a Reply

