Wee Scoops

Measure for Measure

Do You Take the Red Pill or the Blue Pill?

“You take the blue pill – the story ends, you wake up in your bed and believe whatever you want to believe. You take the red pill – you stay in Wonderland and I show you how deep the rabbit-hole goes.” -Morpheus (from the film The Matrix)

 

You have to take the red pill.

So saying I have never read “Alice in Wonderland” despite several attempts. But I think it is important to know how deep the rabbit hole goes.

I did see “The Matrix” years ago, but felt that I had already been down that philosophical road before. When Neo, at the end, sees the matrix and stops the bullets – I thought, like, yeah, duh, why didn’t he do that before? – given that it is all not real.

In real life, I often used to wonder, what if this is all an illusion and I am a brain in a jar somewhere being stimulated to make me think I was living this life I think I am?

On the one hand, so what? But that’s a blue pill attitude.

I’d take the red pill. That’s because I am a strange beast: I believe in absolutes. The blue pill person is happy to believe whatever they want to believe. I am impatient with subjectivist randomness.

I think that somewhere out there is a (metaphorical) cosmic envelope containing the truth. Things are or are not. Truth exists, whether or not it can be known.

Would I want to know?

Sure.

Single Post Navigation

22 thoughts on “Do You Take the Red Pill or the Blue Pill?

  1. short, sweet, to the point, I like it.

  2. With you on that. Red pill for me.

    The problem with that is when you find that one or more of your beliefs / presuppositions is/are simply wrong. Do you carry on living the same way as before and try to practice doublethink, or do you stop and re-evaluate, and then start living differently?

    If you follow it as far as it goes, what happens if you don’t like where you end up?

    Guess who’s wrestling with some major theological beliefs at the moment?

    • Reading too much Rob Bell?
      Just because some bricks crumble doesn’t mean the wall has to collapse.

      • Rob Bell? No, he merely questions the pictures on the wall.

        But what happens when you find out that a large chunk of foundation is missing?

      • Either go pragmatist/egoist; or wait for the next round of data; or hijack the Edinburgh convention this week and ask alistair begg.

    • One should be constantly re-evaluating, positions change as new data comes in. One shouldn’t be afraid to embark on a journey just because the destination is unclear.

  3. “Things are or are not”, well in certain circumstances they can be both simultaneously until we observe them! I’m unconvinced on absolutes unless it pertains to mathematics. What kind of absolutes are you talking about? I’m with Jocelyn Bell in that I think you should quest for understanding over truth and I don’t think there is or even can be one ultimate truth of reality, certainly not at the quantum level (check it out it’s cool). Observation changes the nature of reality so how can you know the truth?

    Of course as one on the quest for understanding I’d take the red pill. I don’t think that ignorance is bliss and I always tend to err on the side of too much knowledge. Knowledge equips us to make informed choices.

    • Don’t “get” how observation changes anything 😕

      • Don’t worry no-one gets the “how” but it *does*. Watch this from 5.24 (well I recomend watching the entire programme actually) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cs4-ZRyS0kU&feature=related . So cool.

      • Will do thanks, but after the Murray match and another experimental curry…

      • San, in simple, not very sciencey terms, the explanation goes something like this:

        All ‘observation’ involves the transfer of something – for looking with your eyes, there is transfer of light from (a) the light source, to (b) the object being observed, to (c) your eyes. If you’re observing something big (relative to the quantum scale), say a tennis ball, then the light bouncing off the ball doesn’t really change it much. If you look at something small, like an atom, then photons of light bouncing off that make quite a lot of difference – the light actually will change the way the atom moves. So the only way not to interfere with the atom is not to observe it.

        Or think of it like trying to ‘observe’ the temperature of a river. You dip your hand in to sense the temperature, but in doing so, you influence (however slightly) the flow of the water.

        Sorry for saying ‘quantum’ and ‘photon’ in there. Those are pretty ‘sciencey’ terms.

  4. I’m hoping that my observation of the Murray match doesn’t make him lose ;)!

  5. This was one of my favorite topics so far…. It really made me think ya know?
    I loved the Matrix movies when they came out and it was just a walk down memory lane for me 😛 I love your answer tho, short and to the point 🙂

    • I’ve been kinda hoping that the daily post will leave off the profound philosophy for a while. Before we all disappear in a puff of logic.

      • Yeah… I rarely do the dailypost topics….. (and I’m totally suffering from writers block atm) but I’ve noticed that they’ve been doing a lot of those lately

  6. It all honesty I have no idea what pill I would choose. I feel compelled to say Red because it seems less shallow. However with recent personal events giving me the feeling of truth crumbling, I’m not sure I could do that on a proper scale of everything. Give me poetry, music and art over the red pill any day!
    Having said that, I don’t think frame Truth in the same manner anymore. I wonder if that means I don’t believe it’s truly true………… I feel a blog coming on!

Leave a Reply

