Wee Scoops

Measure for Measure

That is, like, SO last century…

But at least we could party like it was 1999, because it was.

It’s our wedding anniversary today so I have been watching the video. Well, I would have been, but we don’t have a video player any more. So a friend magicked it into a DVD and I’ve been watching that.

The children are a bit put out that they are not in it.

🙄

“Understated Chic” was my chosen theme – following the fashion advice of the time: “The Millenium Bride does not wear flowers”. I was so ahead of the game.

One day, captured for posterity – and so I guess that makes this posterity….

In the video…Everyone has darker hair. Some people are dead. Some people I haven’t seen for twelve years. Some people have shaved. Some people have grown up. Some people have moved away. Some people are ill. Some people didn’t exist at the time. Some people have put on weight. Some people have even lost weight. I am not one of them.

Time rolls on. Videos become obsolete. People are born; people die. Relationships evolve. Then and Now are different places.

Marriage is having an identity crisis these days. I always saw it as a cool metaphor for the relationship between Christ and the church – a kind of circle of sacrificial love and loving submission that rolls on and on in a ring. Marriage has existed as a concept since at least the writing of Genesis – and probably long before – but it is the description in Ephesians 5 that always caught my imagination:

Wives, submit yourselves to your own husbands as you do to the Lord. For the husband is the head of the wife as Christ is the head of the church, his body, of which he is the Saviour (…) Husbands, love your wives, just as Christ loved the church and gave himself up for her (…)This is a profound mystery—but I am talking about Christ and the church…

Some people have trouble with this picture because the wife is to “submit” which is a bit counter cultural – but that’s only half of the picture. The husband is to love his wife as Christ loved the church – and Christ died to save the Church because of love. And as a ‘profound mystery’ I suppose it’s fair that we struggle with the metaphor that Christian marriage should be.

So, that was then and this is now and the profoundly mysterious metaphor of marriage rolls on and on. I feel a bit like Vetruvian wife, or something…

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “That is, like, SO last century…

  1. I like the style of it, it flows so naturally. The flow is also indicative of life and it’s journey. Really good writing.

  2. HAPPY ANNIVERSARY!!!!!!!!!!!!

    And, yes, good writing! Wish we were closer; I could give you a gift!

    Keep up the good work!

  3. eleanor on said:

    Really like this. Brings back happy memories of what was a lovey day. Can’t remember who you sat us next to, but I recall having a discussion about farming with the person sitting next to me at dinner! Possibly the only such discussion I have ever had.
    Ispirational comments re Ephesians too, that will set me up for the day! E x

    • There are farmers on my mother’s side. I think “we” used to populate the Heads of Ayr and thereabouts. Thanks for commenting. The video camera was set up at the end of your pew, so your clan are featured fairly thoroughly on the video. I mean DVD…
      Thanks for the comment.

Leave a Reply

