Wee Scoops

Measure for Measure

Tootsie on Loop

I watched “Tootsie” a LOT. It is trapped in a VHS tape now, and I haven’t seen it in years. It is however etched onto my sub-conscious.

“Didn’t anybody hear me? I’ve been trapped in that bathroom for a half an hour. I must remember that if I ever do a scene when I’m trapped some place.”

I once met someone, who after an hour’s conversation said, “You don’t happen to know “Tootsie” off by heart, do you?” It was very cathartic to verbalise the whole movie through quote by quote.

“That’s a corn cob.”

I once made the mistake of singing the theme song “It might be you” from Tootsie in a Karaoke Bar in Tenerife. Not a great rendition – perhaps I hadn’t watched the movie sufficiently often at that stage… I was unaware of, well, quite a lot of the melody… but never mind. I got a free t-shirt. Then had to stand by and listen while a karaoke pro got a standing ovation for “The Greatest Love of All”. Oh, the shame of it…

“Does Jeff know?”

The script is brilliant and the web of relationships tightened around the character’s neck until he had no way out.

As well as that, the whole movie is a lesson in walking in someone else’s shoes. When Michael “became” Dorothy, he learned to see the world through the eyes of a woman – and it transformed him as a man.

“But I was a better man with you, as a woman… than I ever was with a woman, as a man.”

Michael was between a rock and a hard place throughout the movie and it was a pleasure to see him squirm.

I recommend it, kind of. But I think I really recommend watching it in the late 1980s, if that were possible.

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “Tootsie on Loop

  1. Will watch it again. It was a good one. Thank you for reminding me.

  2. I will try to watch it in the 80’s mindset since I have never seen it.

  3. It was a wonderful movie. I loved it. Will have to watch it again.

  4. I watched Tootsie in the ’80s but I spent much of that time watching Highlander, Dune and Anne of Green Gables on a repeat loop (“There can be only one; For he *is* the Kwisatz Haderach; Carrots!”.

    • Yes, I watched a great deal of Anne of Green Gables too. Highlander I acknowledge as a classic, despite my inability to get into the spirit of it concerning the death of bonnie Heather. But Dune, I saw about a minute of, I think. Big worms, was it?

  5. Tinman on said:

    I loved it, and I’d love to get my kids to sit and watch it with me one day. Doubt it though.

Leave a Reply

