Wee Scoops

Measure for Measure

Non-Starter. (Non-Main Course and Non-Dessert… for that matter…)

My first ever job interview was to work in the kitchens of an infectious diseases unit. Armed with my Inverness College 1993 Basic Food Hygiene Certificate and a poorly thought-through out-fit, I set off to dip my toe into the bain-marie of work. Half-heartedly.

My mind is trying its best to prevent me from remembering precisely what I wore, but the images are becoming all too clear against my will. I have a horrible feeling that I was wearing kitten-heeled tan suede court shoes and a navy-blue sailor skirt *grimacing* and maybe a matching jacket? *fingers crossed hoping not*.  I suspect I may have been wearing a crepe, floral blouse with big buttons. *Weep*

I don’t know how I was trying to look. Like I have clothes on? What do prospective kitchen staff wear to an interview? Should I have donned a towering chef’s hat? Or looked really clean? I don’t know. So instead I went dressed up as a style-free teenager dressed as a middle-aged office worker with no taste… but let’s move on…

The whole thing was flawed from the outset. It was a summer job I was going for, during one of my student summers. If truth be told, I already had plans. I don’t know why I thought they would give me a fortnight off during a seven week job, but I thought it worth asking… apparently not.

My interview technique has not improved much since then. It took me thirteen interviews to get my current job and I am not planning to ever be interviewed again. I think the stress of selecting an inappropriate outfit would be too much for me. I shudder to think what I’d pick.

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “Non-Starter. (Non-Main Course and Non-Dessert… for that matter…)

  1. Wow, you are brave, an infectious disease unit. That’s incredible. I am with you on the worst part is the horrible dilemma of what to wear! Hate that part. It’s wonderful that you have a job that you never have to stress about what to wear.
    Great post.

  2. As I read your post, I was remembering (against my will) my first job interview. AAAACCCCCCHHHHH!!!!!

  3. The classic St Andrews tie should have set me up for success… perhaps there is another flaw in my interview skill-set???

Leave a Reply

